We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
27
37
8
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
37
8
7
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Ok so I really want to recommend this 1940 guest house, you could imagine if the walls could talk and the grandness that was once there. But I just can’t make myself do it. There’s so much to like but for my needs I can’t. I’m sure it will appeal to a lot of other people though.
So for the pros and there’s a lot of them, excellent location, large rooms, clean room and ensuite, lovely hot water and pressure in the shower. Very comfortable beds, very quite rooms. Lovely garden area out the front. Amazing views of the mountain range.
And the cons no mini fridge, no tv, dark hallways and entrance, very dark communal lounge with seriously bad reception on the tv, the building felt neglected, no communal kitchen. We stayed 3 nights and would’ve liked to cook some of our meals. Guest house felt very abandoned. If there had of been a a mini fridge, crockery, cutlery and microwave in our room plus a bbq in the gardens or a communal kitchen I think I would’ve recommended this guest house. Also as stated we stayed 3 nights and no one gave us clean coffee cups or water glasses. We had to rinse them in the bathroom sink.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stayed with a group of friends ,really quaint needs updating in a lot of places but loved the old world feel.no tv in room but it was more relaxing without .the food was great .very quiet ,close to shops

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

This guest house located within a short walk from the shopping area of Hall's Gap has the charm of an earlier era. With a group of friends we were fortunate to have a friendly, caring and hospitable host. We enjoyed the warm lounge on two brisk autumn evenings. An ideal place to meet with friends. Rooms clean and comfortable and the evening meals were excellent.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

I stayed recently at the Mountain Grand Guest House and was disappointed by the cleanliness. The bed cover had several stains over it and when I turned back the cover I discovered hair on the sheet. The comfort of the double bed was not good. I suggest that the owner improves the cleaning of the linen at the very least.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Mum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We stumbled across this small Guest House and were very pleasantly surprised. OK, OK other reviewers say its quaint [it is], it's like visiting Grandma [who doesn't like their grandma], old world [what's wrong with that]. However, what they don't say is that the hotel is literally across the road from the main strip [500 metres away]. The rooms were clean and comfortable; they weren't overly expensive. Park your car, start your walk to the Pinnacle from the Hotel - what could be easier? We would definitely come back.

Room tip: Room 5 has a spa bath; which was nice
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vasc0P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews