We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water tank eggs and bacon breakfast basket the cottages yogurt royal mail hotel mt sturgeon backdrop region wifi walks facilities kangaroos grampians
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick weekend away and to enjoy the award winning Royal Mail Hotel dining experience. The blue stone cottage are just beautiful with views over Mt. Sturgeon and beautiful landscapes. Each cottage has a big wood fireplace and there are more than enough other heaters to make it warm and cozy. I can highly recommend these over and above the hotel accommodation.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We recently stayed in one of the Blue Stone cottages at the Mt Sturgeon homestead to attend a friend's wedding.
The cottages are located a little outside the town of Dunkeld, and were a perfect wedding location, but for another purpose might feel a bit isolated. I understand that the cottages were what used to be the shearer's quarters back in the day, but have been updated to provide comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings.

The cottage was spacious with a separate living area and bedroom, and a bathroom that had creatively been built in what from outside looked like a corrugated iron water tank.

The living area had a leather sofa and armchair, a small table to sit and eat at, and a dresser containing a sink, which acted as the kitchenette. A breakfast hamper was delivered containing bread, yogurt, muesli, eggs, bacon, pancake batter and fruit juices. These could be cooked using the microwave or the electric frypan.

There was also a wood burning fireplace that was set up and ready to go, but given the 30 degree heat, we didn't entertain the idea!

Note that there is no TV or Wi-fi from an entertainment perspective (not that we needed it ourselves), and very limited connection to a mobile signal.

There are 4 cottages, all set apart enough to give privacy, and all surrounded by grassy lawns with an outdoor table and benches of very old weathered wood. There's also a lot of kangaroo poo from the local wildlife.

Early morning water sprinklers could disturb a light sleeper!

With a view towards Mount Sturgeon that is quite stunning, these cottages are a comfortable getaway from it all, but note that they are remote from other facilities and the town itself. You will need a car.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

The cottages are pet friendly and near the Royal Mail Hotel which was perfect for a quick getaway and chance to dine in style. The cottage is neat and tidy and ok for a short stay but there would need to be some changes for a longer stay. The kitchen really isnt a kitchenette rather a cabinet with sink and electric pan. Cooking anything other than eggs or pancakes would be impossible. The queen bed was quite uncomfortable and moved around on the hardwood floors. It would have been nice to sleep with the windows and door open but the screens had holes so the mozzies were relentless. Getting away from it all is great but be prepared there is no TV, wireless, 3kms from the town and the phone reception is minimal. (Not a bad thing necessarily). Finally, the rooms were made up late in the afternoon a time when most people in my opinion are either resting after a big day out or getting ready to go out. A good stay and value for money with breakfast included but could be a great stay

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank larrysbisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

These cottages are charming from the outside. The original blue-stone structures have been maintained and the views out over mount sturgeon are fabulous. Unfortunately the one we were allocated needed some maintenance. The carpets are badly stained and the curtains are threadbare. It is not particularly well equipped with only two sets of cutlery, tea cups, plates and bowls. There were no spoons and with only two of everything, if you stay more than one night you find yourself having to constantly wash things. The breakfast hamper that is delivered to your door has some good quality gourmet products - shultz milk, pepe saya butter - but it is a challenge cooking in the tiny area designated to the "kitchenette". An additional cupboard/shelf on the end of the existing cupboard would fix this easily. The bedroom is roomy but why a queen size bed when there is room for a king? The bathroom which is inside of a zinc water tank is really unique and quite sweet.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We stayed in one of the cottages for one night as part of a package and we were sorry we were only there for one night. The cottage was magnificent, well appointed and comfortable. Very private too. There was a breakfast basket provided which had bread, pancake mix, eggs, bacon, muesli, coffee. We had dinner as party of our package and were picked up and dropped back by staff. The surrounding area and views around the cottage are great. The water tank bathroom is a great idea. Based on our stay we would recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews