We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
224
69
17
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
69
17
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool public transport bbq area car park excellent hotel comfortable bed breakfast was amazing an amazing view new building two night stay peak hours complimentary parking few teething problems hotel guests soft pillows main area special price
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stay at The Chen regularly as we need be close to Epworth Hospital.
They are always welcoming and recognise us with a warm greeting.
Box Hill shopping centre is close with awesome food. Train station is smack bang in the middle.
So convenient.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We had an overnight stay. The hotel was just lovely. My kids loved the rooftop pool, the swim at 9pm winter night and 9am before checkout. Hopefully, if we get a chance, would love to stay again. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank janewarren2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

loved being able to stay at the CHEN, The art series vibe was lovely. nice cafe / restaruant. Parking was so easy and plenty available. So close to main area shops/station/restaurants - accross from Hospital & TAFE etc..the top deck is an amazing 360 view of melbourne. The bed was so comfortable, I often struggle to sleep in hotels, not this one. can't wait for next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank D2909URsusank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We found the room a bit odd, with 2 large beds (with only two guests), only one chair and desk. I think that next time we will ask for One queen or king size bed, a table and chairs that we can sit comfortably in.
The suite was beautifully appointed and finished by quality tradesmen. The kitchen probably wasn't necessary, either.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank _sueandbrian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed at The Chen in Box Hill Melbourne recently. It was very good, maybe even excellent. This is s brand new hotel with strong Chinese influences. Thought the building it features original art work. It’s great. In your room there’s even a colour palette and frame if you feel inspired.
Really well stocked & reasonable bar fridge, small food prep area and superb beds. Staff are very helpful too.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Johno91058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi Johno91058,

Thank you for the great review, I am pleased to hear we inpired your creative side! Our Art Series Signature Beds truly are wonderful, our guests love them so much we now even sell them on our website.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back,

Thank you again,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews