We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay(Woollahra)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 108
US$ 98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel(Watsons Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parkroyal Darling Harbour(Vaucluse)(Great Value!)
US$ 250
US$ 164
Priceline
View Deal
Megaboom City Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

QT Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 235
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
19
12
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
12
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentennial parkoxford streetcontinental breakfast was includedlounge areabars and restaurantssydney cbdplace to stayper nightgreat hoteltariffcerealsuite
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I booked through a room on the less expensive end of the scale as I knew I would be gone all day. The room and bathroom small as to be expected, didn’t worry me as I was on my own. Certainly very clean and tidy. But the room in general had that unpleasant odour of something...cheap cleaning fluid? Hard to move with the fan going full bore.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Coolumbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Hughenden Hotel is a charming boutique hotel built in 1878 with no two rooms the same. The room options include double sized beds, queen sized beds, king size beds, suites, family rooms and Deluxe rooms up to the Hughenden’s signature Manor Room which is our largest room. The Cosy room that you booked is well named and this room size is definitely better suited to solo travelers on a budget or people not planning on staying in the room for very long. They are small rooms and the price does reflect that as well. With so many room options available when staying it is best to discuss the options with our always friendly and helpful staff. We totally understand that some people are very sensitive to cleaning products and their fragrances and we try our best to make the rooms very clean and the "odour" imperceptible but sometimes it can be a bit strong for some guests, we apologize for the inconvenience and we recommend that in a future stay you contact our front desk staff to look after you if you have any issues like that. That way you can stay in comfort and do not leave the hotel unhappy with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Hughenden you are a Sweet Boutique and Gorgeous

I’ve stayed here a few times predominately for location. The rooms are cosy, some are very cosy and pets are allowed.

You will require ear plugs or a set of Bose noise reductions head set as the noise in rooms does travel and can be loud. Very loud.

Not ever room has an air conditioner either, so you will need to ask.

Parking is available for $33 per night.

Decorations and fit out is chic French. Renaissance Period.

Food is gourmet and tasty. There are 4-5 different sitting areas and atmosphere.


Recommend yes

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank ZaraIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

We are glad you enjoyed the old charm of the building and that you loved the food and the atmosphere. Unfortunately some rooms can be noisy depending on what is happening on the street or even if we have events at the hotel but most of the rooms are always quiet so for your next stay we would recommend that you speak to the reception staff if you are unhappy with your room as they can assist you find one better suited. The Hughenden Hotel is a charming boutique hotel built in 1878 with no two rooms the same featuring 32 rooms and only 2 rooms without an air-conditioning which are our budget rooms. We really appreciate that you took the time to write us a review. Looking forward to welcome you to The Hughenden again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Service was impeccable from all the staff whom we found efficient, friendly and attentive. The room and bathroom were clean and to a good standard. Bed very comfortable. We had a 'cosy' room which was small (as advertised) but still fine. No a/c in the room which had an overhead fan instead. The continental breakfast comprised a wide selection of good quality food and the dining area was lovely - you can eat inside or out. Convenient too having a charming street-side cafe right on site. We loved the hotel's old-style decor and it's character. Queen Street is an upmarket location and I thought the accommodation was value for money. We were able to find overnight parking on the street which was quiet at night. A mistake did occur on checkout. We found two meals had been added to our account in error! This was rectified however as a cross-check I suggest patrons could be asked their surname, as well as room number at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Janet,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are always looking at improving our guests experiences and your feedback is well appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the old charm of the building and that the staff made you fell at home. My apologies again for the inconvenience at checkout and We look forward to welcoming you to The Hughenden again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile


Lively hotel in a suburb of Sydney we really enjoy. Staff are 5/5. Efficient. Friendly. Bubbly. Breakfast is a good continental style with cereal, fruit, muesli, toast, tea and coffee. Lounge area with cute bar offers option to vacate room and relax. Pop up style of pavement cafe offers coffees, cakes and snacks. Rooms are very varied. Some small. Some less furnished than others. Bathrooms can also be small, although ours was modern and functional. Rooms are 3/5 simply because they need a make over. They are shabby, not chic! The place is tired. Car parking is extra but for us invaluable. Nearby are many good eateries, bars etc. We will return but will go for higher grade of room for that extra bit of comfort.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello Downie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you found the staff to be nice and friendly, enjoyed the old charm of the building and our lovely Cafe. As you know, The Hughenden Boutique Hotel is a charming hotel built in 1878 with no two rooms the same. For your next stay we would recommend that you speak to the reception staff when you book your room so they can assist you find one better suited. We really appreciate your feedback about the room and ow that we have finished most of the common area's renovations we are working in some renovations inside the rooms and soon we will have a makeover in the rooms as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our boutique hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We had our wedding reception here and the staff were outstanding! We were so well looked after, and everything ran smoothly and was just as we'd requested. The venue was a beautiful setting, having just been renovated, and the food was delicious too. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Amy and Ryan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you and all your guests. I am glad that you have had a great time! It was a beautiful night and The Hughenden Family wishes you both a new chapter full of love and that all your dreams come true!

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews