We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
15 years on

Our first visit to Oz was 15 years ago, great today to revisit same place with same folk including... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
gwgMimsFlorida
,
mims florida
What a sight!

Walking the North Head Sanctuary offers incredible views... and if you go at the right time like I... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
barefootlouise
via mobile
Read all 236 reviews
  
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
149
59
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
59
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north head tunnel tour war memorial spectacular views sydney harbour flora and fauna military base national park interesting walk shelly beach scenic drive q station parade ground info centre vantage point fantastic walk gun emplacements
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Our first visit to Oz was 15 years ago, great today to revisit same place with same folk including son who now lives here. Great views and today spring flowers and a new Visitor Centre.

Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Walking the North Head Sanctuary offers incredible views... and if you go at the right time like I did, you might even spit wine whales!!!!

Thank barefootlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The North Head Sanctuary offers such beautiful views that looks out over the Pacific Ocean, Sydney Harbor, and cliffs. To do the entire walk at a nice steady, leisurely pace, allow yourself at least 3 hours. Look out for many native lizards in the area, plants, and birds. It is worth taking some time out of your day to experience North Head; Get some awesome photos, relax and enjoy the spectacular foreshore views. The walk starts at Shelly Beach and loops around the top of North head passing Q Station with some interesting history and ending at Manly Cove. North Head Sanctuary is open every day during daylight hours. Unfortunately there are no dogs allowed for the protection of endangered wildlife and plant species. If your looking for something free and adventurous, go out for the adventure!

1  Thank Mallory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The North Head Sanctuary and walks offer spectacular views of both the Pacific Ocean, Sydney Harbour and Sydney skyline as well as some fascinating wwII artillary fortifications and memorial walk.

We walked from the Q Station back to the roundabout then onto the walking trail which is well marked. The walk wanders through beautiful unique Australian flora to some awe inspiring lookouts.

It really is worth taking your time to wander at a leisurly pace taking in the beauty of the flora and views.

You can drive to parking near the headland and complete a shorter walk but there is so much more to see by starting the walk further back.

There is acafe att headland for those needing a boost afterwards.

Thank misscandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We walked from Shelly Beach to North Head Sanctuary. Lots to see along the way. Friendly echidna walked across the track and lots of native flowers, birds and lizards. The views over the ocean amazing well worth the walk. The stone walls were huge so much hard work by the early settlers. Plenty to have a look a once we got there.

Thank markJ3584AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

A really beautiful spot and totally worth the up hill walk from Manly. From the top you can see the city line across Sydney Harbour and all the surrounding suburbs.

Thank margofox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Had friends from overseas visiting. Hiking around North Head is easy and light going. It can get busy on a nice day though.

We paid to do the tunnel tour but regretted it. You pay $10 per head for some rude volunteer guide who was clearly an ex grunt and has a big chip on his shoulder to take you down the memorial path (which is free to public anyhow) then the last small part of the tour is the tunnel walk back.

My advice just get a map and leave a donation and hike yourself. Dont need tours from guides from ex gunners with attitude.

Thank Anzai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CockatooIsland, Digial Engagement officer at North Head Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Anzai88,

Thank you for taking the time to review the North Fort tour. We are sorry to hear the experience did not live up to your expectations. We have taken your feedback into consideration, with a view to ensuring this tour meets a high standard. We take great pride in offering volunteer-run tours, which are informative and memorable. You can rest assured that the money spent on the tour goes towards the conservation of North Head Sanctuary.

Thanks again,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Grea walk within easy reach of Manly, you can walk or bike or bus the road or thake the trail up from the beach. Great lookouts and interesting history and buildings/tunnels to explore. Get those walking legs out.

Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

I can’t believe there weren’t more people doing this walk from
where the Manly ferry lands to North Head and checking out the stunning views at the various lookouts
We will def come back as we ran out of time to see the tunnels and the hanging swamp and the memorial walk
You could easily spend a day looking around this beautiful natural and well cared for area

1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

The lookouts in North Head are nothing short of amazing. The walk is super easy & about an hour walk from Manly Ferry Wharf! You could also rent a bike to get up there faster. The lookouts has me in awe. Wow. After I saw the lookouts, I ate lunch in the Corso. Over all 10/10

Thank laurengimotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews