We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation in the heart of Manly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Manly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Manly
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in the heart of Manly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Quest Grand Esplanade Manly for 3 nights during the Easter School Holidays. We were only able to stay at a one bedroom apartment as the two bedroom apartments were fully booked. However, it also had a sofa bed and it was a spotless and comfortable apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. It also had a washing machine and dryer in a clean bathroom with a bath and overhead shower. This does cause a problem with a very wet bathroom floor after showers despite a plastic shower curtain. The apartment had a harbour view as the hotel is located close to the ferry terminal as opposed to Manly Beach which is several hundred metres walk. This is not a problem as it is a pleasant walk through lots of shops and cafes via the Corso. There are lots of nice cafes and restaurants within or near the ferry terminal such as Hugo's, Manly Pavilion, Bavarian Bier Cafe, Phoenix Yum Cha, etc. Nearby there is Adriano Zumbo chocolates and for great coffee there is Barefoot Trader's Cafe and Three Beans Cafe. There are lots of things to do in Manly with wonderful beaches, shopping at the Corso, bars, cafes and restaurants, Oceanworld Manly and taking the ferry to different parts of Sydney Harbour.
The hotel parking is free and is undercover secure parking which is great. There are limited facilities in the hotel but they do have a small fitness room with cardio machines and some weights machines.
They do not servicing and cleaning on Sundays for the rooms but otherwise it is daily servicing of the rooms. They do not have a restaurant but there are lots of choices nearby. However, two restaurants that were in the ground floor of the same building as the hotel must have ceased trading recently as we saw the empty shop fronts.
Another issue may be the outside noise as it can be noisy outside from passing traffic or noisy passers by.
Overall, the apartment was very clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend The Quest Grand Esplanade Manly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaykay300869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your time in posting this review.
It sounds as though you made the most of your time in Manly- Manly Pavilion, Hugo's and Barefoot Coffee Traders are three of my favourite places to be on a day off. It took me a bit longer than three days to find them though, so well done!
Certainly the location of Manly means there is something always happening and with that comes with a little noise from time to time. If we got rid of all the noise Manly wouldn't be Manly. In any case it is rare that our guests find the atmosphere too much once they are tucked into bed.
I am glad you got to take advantage of our guaranteed free parking. If I have one criticism of this town is that parking is tough to find and it is expensive when you do, so I am glad we are in a position to provide this so our guests don't have to worry about it.
Anyway, thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    193
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
198
202
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Sydney - out of the city, with only a pleasant 40 minute ferry ride to the Opera House and all the CBD has to offer.
We chose a one bedroom harbour view apartment for us and our adult son. The second bed is a fold out in the loungeroom, which might be OK for kids, but next time we'll go for a two bedroom apartment.
The apartment has all of the facilities we needed and more. It was spotlessly clean and the room was serviced daily. Because there were so many reasonable restaurants nearby we did no cooking, except for breakfast. Then it was only a 15 minute walk to the beach, two minutes to the harbour pool and two minutes to the ferry terminal.
The price may seem a little on the high side, but this is Sydney. It was actually about half the price we paid for a similar unit at Mooloolaba in Queensland, with only a weekly service. When you add in the FREE parking (usually $30-$40 in Sydney) it becomes more reasonable.
If I were on a business trip to the CBD I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Quest and enjoy that great ferry ride to the office each day.

Room Tip: The first floor harbour view rooms can be a little noisy in peak hour, when buses are coming and goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this fantastic review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will be back to stay with us in the future. As you would expect, our Two Bedroom Apartments are more spacious and private which would be perfect for you and your adult son. Most hotels in Manly will charge for parking (and it can be quite expensive), however as you say, not only do we guarantee a secure car park for you, it is complimentary as well.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Location is perfect if you forget the bus stops opposite. We found them a rich source of people watching which is a great pastime in Manly. Staff helpful and rooms very well planned and equiped. Washing machine, tumble dryer, reasonable cooking facilities and a very comfortable bed and sofa bed. Place a little sanitised but we found thid perfectly acceptable. Noisy but interesting on the balcony as the Sydney to Manly ferry docks just down the road. We found it a very good base and Manly itself is wonderful for many reasons. Lots of coffee shops (all btter than the best in many other places) and restaurants and beaches to suit all within walking distance. Recommended unless you could not cope with being on a main road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyoldduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Giving Manly the thumbs up is definitely high praise from people who come from somewhere as beautiful as Cornwall.
I agree, Manly certainly is laden with good coffee and restaurants- the main challenge is staying for long enough to get around to all of them.
We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It is not often we come to Sydney, but Manly is a favorite location. The hotel is close to everything, a swim, shopping, restaurants, Manly ferry etc and it is very relaxing to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardenstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and to all our previous reviewers. I have finally joined the 21st century and will endeavour to respond to all our reviewers from here on.
We work hard to ensure that all guests are put in a position where they are relaxed and content so they are in a position to enjoy all the wonderful things that Manly has to offer. It is certainly nice to hear that we are on the right track.
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay here and look forward to welcoming you when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here in February while on an extended work trip. I chose this place because it is on the beach, outside of the city a bit, and because it is a serviced apartment with a kitchen and washer/dryer.

Many is just a short ferry ride away from the CBD, and offers a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and isn't quite the tourist Mecca that Bondi or Coogi are. It's quite perfect in my opinion. There is a wonderful beach and calmer wharf with a lot to do, plus great food and shopping.

This quest apartment had a wonderfully redone interior and everything seemed very nice, modern, and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and allowed me to feel at home. I was able to park my rental car easily here, got fast Internet access, and was able to go grocery shopping nearby and make some food at "home".

I would recommend this place to anyone. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scratchpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Manly? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Manly

Property: Quest Manly
Address: 54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,408 - ₹ 19,492
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Manly 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Manly is ideally located, just a short stroll from the iconic Manly Beach. Directly opposite Manly Wharf, our property gives you the added bonus of being only 15 minutes by Fast Ferry to Sydney's CBD. There are numerous world class restaurants, bars and boutiques on our doorstep. We provide spacious serviced apartment accommodation complete with kitchens, laundry facilities, wireless internet, balconies and most apartments have harbour views. Quest Manly is a luxurious home base for all your Sydney explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Manly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Grande Esplanade Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing