We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Manly Beach
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at the Sebel Manly for two nights, whilst in Sydney for a wedding. We had other accommodation in mind, however it was fully booked so we chose the Sebel and we were very happy. We were kindly given an upgrade to a large self contained 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and two massive balconies, which overlooked the beach towards the mall. The decor was very nice, however the bathroom was a little small (with only a very small nook for the sink and mirror).

When we booked it, we weren't really aware that the Sebel is more of a longer term holiday rental, rather than a short stay hotel. We were hoping to have some suits cleaned and pressed, a service which is offered, however it is not done on site - it's sent out to a dry cleaner with a minimum 24 hours notice required. The room did however, have full laundry facilities to remedy this issue for us.

Unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant, however it did look very good and was always busy. We really enjoyed staying in Manly and would recommend the Sebel to families and couples wanting a relaxing retreat, with everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    255
    93
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
273
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The view is great if you like sitting on a pigeon pooed balcony and it's a lovely part of Manly with lots of walks, restaurants and shopping - but I'm not reviewing Manley but the Sebel Manly.
Well, I'd have to say that the hotel is OK, the staff are helpful, and the restaurant is mad and noisy most of the time. The room was in need of a revamp and I thought was really expensive for what you got. The Sebel in Kiama (Oz) was modern and $300 per night (but no view)... oh sorry, back to the Sebel Manly... yeah... not impressed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trickydickdicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

On the quiet end of Manly beach we had a room overlooking the ocean ....so kept the curtains open so we could watch the sunrise over the ocean ....from the comfort of our bed...I even set my alarm! We were not disappointed, even though it was a cold winter morning!
We liked that the bed was on a step, so enjoyed better views of the ocean!
We enjoyed airy walks along the beach in the morning so enjoyed the beachfront location!
We live in Sydney so it was great to explore Manly for the weekend ..rather than just get the ferry over on a daytrip. We really felt we had gone away to a far away relaxing location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Paid a lot for a room facing the beach and was all round disappointed.
There was no spa bath (requested and booked a spa bath room through Flight Centre) and the staff were unable to change our rooms. No apology offered.
Hair in the sink and again nil apology. Had to request towels and they took 2 hours to get there.
The morning we were due to leave I was interrupted on the toilet by the housekeeper! It was still 2 hours before check out and she was there to check the fridge. When she realised I was sitting on the loo with my pants down she apologised AND KEPT CHECKING THE FRIDGE!


We are not a rich couple and we booked this thinking the expensive rate would equal a lovely night away.
Wrong.
Will not be coming back. Emailed Sebel and informed front desk of issues and nil response from anyone.
(late review as only just joined this site).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

No wifi in rooms; must use old-fashioned wired internet
Front-desk staff are very friendly and helpful
Restaurant opens late every day and has poor service attitude
Wifi available only in lobby and restaurant
Hotel is excellent for tourists who want to spend time on manly beach - not for business people
Local restaurants are much better at service than hotel restaurant
RooMs are functional and adequate, not luxurious
Ocean view rooms provide excellent views of ocean - very pleasant

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sautillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Manly Beach

Property: The Sebel Manly Beach
Address: 8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,604 - ₹ 21,587
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Manly Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking Sydney's famous Manly Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Manly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Manly Beach Hotel Manly
Sebel Manly Beach Sydney
Sebel Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing