We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend”

Milebrook House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milebrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good weekend”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have stayed in this small family run before and was not disappointed with a repeat visit. Very good food, comfortable rooms, very friendly management and staff. They really do care.
The gardens are well worth exploring, running down to the river and a great deal of the produce comes from their vegetable patch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman190791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and each time has been lovely and really relaxing. This time was no different - 3 nights of delicious food, the chef really is excellent and the desserts were stunning, even each bottle of wine with dinner was delicious. The bedroom was a good size and very clean although the only niggle was it did go a bit chilly at night - you cannot believe it in August but maybe some heating was needed. We did a fantastic walk from the house which took us up to Offas Dyke and on previous visits we have done walks around the Clun area - the countryside is stunning. Would definately stay here again - a perfect bank holiday away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammystokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
713 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here with my parents for thier birthday treats for 2 nights.All we can say is it was perfect.Great food,service and more than anything the staff. Nothing was too much trouble at all .

A few people have made comment about the shabby shabby decorations -not sure if they were in the same place ? It was just great

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We booked Milebrook on a whim, as we wanted to extend our holidays by a couple of nights but, due to the bank holidays, most places were fully booked. It was recommended in one of the 'Boutique Hotels' books we found in the (wonderful) hotel we were staying in and we thought it a stroke of good luck to have found anything at all. Unfortunately, we were soon to find out that there was a reason why there was still space at Milebrook...when we got there we thought the house was beautiful, and it really is, from the outside. However, once you step inside, it's a different story. The first thing that hits you is the smell - a mix of milking shed, fried onions and boiled lamb, which permeates the entire house and lingers in the corridors and in the guest rooms (ours at least). Undoubtedly, the stench is not helped the fact that the door to the ground floor kitchen seems to be permanently open. Not a good first impression, and things didn't get any better when we saw our room. Furniture was in urgent need of an overhaul, starting with the metal bed with it’s old-fashioned sheet/blanket/sheet bedding and flaking paint, and the two wicker chairs with their dirty cushions didn’t inspire trust either. Lack of cleanliness featured throughout – there were dead bugs outside of the window, when I picked up one of the teacups it revealed a dirty doily, the bed side table was dusty…quite incredible at £118 per night. The central heating in the room didn’t work either and it took a lot of palaver to get a heater brought up to our room – with the management being unhelpful to the point of rudeness. Unfortunately we’d already paid for two nights and there was no escape. We made the mistake of booking Milebrook but you don’t have to – there are much better places in the area (the Knighton has bright, clean and airy rooms – we checked it out as we tried to change hotels). It really is spectacularly overpriced. If you have a sensitive nose (or a nose at all) and value cleanliness, comfort and value for money, avoid this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aella_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMilebrook, Owner at Milebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Oh dear! A hoteliers nightmare, a very disgruntled customer.
These people were unhappy when they found our hotel was not in the nearby town and finding it very difficult to get a taxi (with it being bank holiday weekend) asked to leave. When told they would have to pay for the room they were, how can we put it politely, very difficult. All I can say is the bad review came as no surprise although we weren't expecting such an imaginative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We have just had a two night break here,and first impressions were mixed,however we soon realised that the wonderful food and service made up for the rather old fashioned room and bathroom that was in need of a spruce up.The place was full with many guests who had returned and local people coming in to enjoy the good food.We really warmed to this hotel,and felt it has a great deal to offer that no top of the range bathroom can improve.Thankyou to all the family and staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Milebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milebrook House Hotel

Property: Milebrook House Hotel
Address: Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Milebrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,973 - ₹ 10,465
Hotel Class:3 star — Milebrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-time retreat of Emperor Haille Selassie. A former Dower House. Home-grown, local produce used in the restaurant. Ideal to explore Mid- Wales and Borderlands. Former home of Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Milebrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing