We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location & spotless accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kass A
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location & spotless accommodation”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights in April this year with our two children 5&7. Our main reason for selecting this property was its location, close to the mach loop which was our main reason for going and its proximity to barmouth. The lodge is extremely well furnished and very comfortable. The view from the balcony is breathtaking , peaceful surroundings this place has everything and we plan on going back for longer later in the year. If you are looking at staying in this area you really shouldn't look any further. Perfect for a quiet getaway & also for families. Our two children loved it and there was plenty to keep them entertained in the lodge even on a rainy day.dvd player, little games scattered about. Even a night light in their room . The owner has thought ifw everything. Will be recommending to my friends

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cubix F
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab weekend”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend here. The cabin is very clean and very comfortable. The view is amazing and the bed out of this world.
Right from first contact the owner was very accommodating and extremely helpful.
We found the surrounding area to be extremely beautiful and the local places of interest as mentioned in the welcome pack were great.
Overall it was a lovely weekend in a lovely cabin in lovely surroundings. We will defiantly return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An amazing retreat !”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This place is really lovely, I cannot fault it, whether you want to completely get away from it all and just relax in your own company and enjoy the comfort of the lodge and the view, or use it as a base to tour around this truly beautiful area, then this is perfect. The owner has clearly put in a great deal of effort to ensure that guests feel welcome, comfortable and cared for. I really hope to return. Thank you.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruin43
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Romantic Location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just spent a long weekend at Tan y Coed and had a wonderful stay. The cabin was better than we expected and was in the most beautiful setting and not overlooked at all. We arrived on a chilly evening and literally within an hour the place was lovely and warm with the log burner which required virtually no effort from us except for lighting a match! There is a great looking balcony from which to enjoy the views with a nice glass of wine, was a bit chilly for us to do that but am sure its great in the summertime. The fittings of the cabin were really above average with lovely comfortable good quality beds and beddings, a well kitted out kitchen and a small but comfortable dining area and lounge, it had all that you would need for a great stay. The location is fairly easy to find and really close to the town with all its amenities and then for days out it is surrounded by lots of interesting places to visit and enjoy. we will definitely recommend it and will go back as soon as we have a chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: that there were neighbours, but we never saw them on our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the lodge and the view
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing