We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Escape from it all”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shepherd's Hut
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Shepherd's Hut
Shepherd's hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clarema20...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Escape from it all”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from a two night stay at this beautiful Shepherds hut.

The interior of the hut has been done to an exceptional standard and the wood burning stove makes it very cosy and warm. Everything is catered for and all really well thought out.

Even though you are "off-grid" the shower was piping hot and the hut was well lit with solar powered lights.

It is set in a beautiful, peaceful location within the green Welsh hills and set next to a stream which was really relaxing to listen to.

We would recommend anyone to stay here and get away from it all. We will definitely be back!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richsteve...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We were lucky enough to be the first guests to stay in this wonderful little place. From the moment we arrived at this tranquil shepherd's hut, we were made to feel welcome.

Sioned and her Husband have thought of everything. We loved the fact that we could escape from the rat-race.

The hut is in a stunning location with a little stream running past. It was lovely to lie in bed and listen to the sound of the water.

Granted, there is little electricity (though there are two USB ports to charge your phone) and we had no mobile reception, but frankly this is an absolute bonus!

Cooking and heat is courtesy of a wood burning stove, which is a great little addition.

Beautifully presented and we had absolutely no complaints whatsoever. We would both highly recommend this gem of a place.

Thank you both for allowing us to be your first guests ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
You were super first guests, it was our pleasure to host you! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca...
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend getaway in cozy little cabin!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Sioned's hut is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. We absolutely loved falling asleep next to the little stream that snakes around the hut, and the gentle bleating of the adorable lambs and sheep in the field that surrounds the hut was simply idyllic. We had a bit of rainy weather the first day and then brilliant sun the next, so we were able to have a parting glass of wine on the hut's little porch with some of the tea cakes that Sioned had so kindly left for us! When we arrived, the hut was perfectly clean and well-stocked with everything anyone could need, including board games, wood (stove was pre-stocked with wood, making it very easy to get the fire started), some cooking essentials, tea, coffee, and milk, among other things. Shower was hot and wonderful; stove was really fun to make and we successfully cooked a delicious dinner on it (though the hut did get quite hot! Opening the door solved the problem), and made tea the next day as well. For adventurous cookers like us, we suggest putting quite a few logs in the stove to get the heat up on the stovetop to a cooking level. Location was perfect, beautiful drive to Aberdyfi and close to many hikes, including Cadair Idris, which we did our second day. Sioned was even nice enough to let us check out late so we could leave our things while we hiked. If you're looking for an off-the-beaten-track hut packed full of pastoral charm, Sioned's place is the one for you. We can't wait to come back! F + L

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathCA
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stunning little shack”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a great time at the hut just relaxing ans watching the sheep just outside the door. The hut itself was the perfect size and had everything we needed. Everything worked perfectly so we didn't see much of Sioned and Andy but we could tell they went the extra mile with brochures for local places to see and cake on arrival! A stunning little shack by a babbling brook with plenty of character and professionally run! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to meet and host you both. We hope to welcome you back to stay one day.
Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing