We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boozey - very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horse & Jockey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse & Jockey Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Knighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Boozey - very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This twin room at the top of an external staircase appears to be one of five converted lofts. Good bathroom with fluffy towels, reasonable storage, TV and bedside lights. The breakfast was back downstairs in the restaurant so we were lucky it was a dry day. Very convenient location a short walk from the rail station and handy for Offa's Dyke. All in all pretty good with pleasant staff, food cooked to order and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0wiewhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Make sure you try the fantastic sizzling steak - very good price, excellent local meat and wonderful chips! Boozey is a really cosy yet large twin room with a luxury bathroom - a real treat. The family who run this establishment do everything they can to make you feel incredibly welcome and always find time to chat and make you feel at home. In many ways it is more like visiting a family home than a hotel. The white chocolate and strawberry cheesecake is to die for. All the dishes are freshly made to order on the premises so you get a truly high standard of food at ridiculously cheap prices - I have yearned for this food every day since arriving back home near London where there is no chance of food at these prices of this level. I would definitely suggest that more people stay here - you won't be disappointed. Gary and Jacqui and their staff and daughter (who works in the restaurant) will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

My mum and I stayed in Boozey, the lovely twin room converted from the feeding trough! Very appropriate as I fell in love with the sizzling steaks which are local meat and incredibly tasty. The food is cooked to order and is beautifully prepared and served and at an extremely reasonable price. We also enjoyed breakfasts cooked to order each morning with whatever we wanted - mum fancied scrambled eggs on toast one morning which was no trouble at all. The staff could not have been more pleasant and always stopped for a chat which was absolutely lovely. The whole place is very well run and very homely as well as having all the mod cons. We were really impressed and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Book well in advance - it's popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

A superb place to stay. The rooms were very modern and clean, noticable the bathrooms. The food in the restaurant was excellent. so much so we all had three courses. Very reasonable priced for such quality. The pubs two bars catered for all age groups. Us mature girls prefered the snug with the log fire, just what you need on a foggy weekend in November. The staff and, i must say, all the locals were very friendly and made us feel welcome. One of the nicest place we have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenofseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Okay, you will read other reviews about the noise from the bar and outside garden, but in reality this isn't really a problem and when the bar shuts the noise stops. For the price, the rooms were very clean and tidy, but my wife did miss a mirror in the bedroom when she was drying her hair. We checked in at 5:00PM and it would have been nice to have been told that the restaurant was very busy that night and booking was essential. We came down to eat at 7:00PM, after a wash and change to be told there was no way we would be getting a table that night and had to eat on a very low table in the bar. At breakfast the next day though the waitress was brilliant, as was the food. 10 out of 10 for the full English.
Summary : good value for money and well worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gacable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
0.1 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
17.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
19.9 km away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
15.7 km away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.9 km away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Inn

Property: The Horse & Jockey Inn
Address: Wylcwm Place | Station Road, Knighton LD7 1AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Knighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,682 - ₹ 6,878
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14th Century Coaching Inn run by the same family since 1989. The Horse and Jockey Inn offer two Bars, Restaurant and 8 Ensuite B & B Rooms all positioned around a south facing Courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Jockey Hotel Knighton
Horse And Jockey Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing