We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We wanted to stay for ever and ever”
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path
Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Kitchen with dining area
Bedroom with 3 comfy single beds
View into back garden
Quirky window to view the sunset
Horseshoe on wooden beam
Ty Mortimer cottage plaque built by John Mortimer 1854
Ty Mortimer cottage
Romantic double bedroom looking towards St Davids
Porthllisky beach with its clear waters for bathing and snorkeling. Just a 10 minute walk away.
The awaspiring Ramsey Sound in flood. Most westerly point in Wales. Ideal for a picnic and to relax
Heady smell of gorse as you approach Porthllisky Bay from Ramsey Sound.
Ewes and lambs grazing near Porthllisky beach in Treginnis Uchaf
St Justinian lifeboat Station along the coast path from Treginnis headland
Whitesand beach only 10 minute drive away, safe for swimming, surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kat881
Cardiff
2 reviews
“We wanted to stay for ever and ever”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Within a few hours of being at Ty Mortimer, our two year-old had declared "I want to stay on holidays for ever and ever", a sentiment which he repeated throughout the week, and, rather crossly, on the day we left.

We had a lovely holiday walking on the coastal path, playing at the very quiet beach just across the fields and visiting other beaches, villages and Folly Farm. The house was a perfect base with plenty of space to play on the rainier days, comfy beds and a very peaceful location.

Highly recommend the boat trip round Ramsey Island going from St Justinians, which is easy walking distance from Ty Mortimer.

Diolch yn fawr iawn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you all had a great time, Ty Mortimer is set in a beautiful area and as you say lots to do. What a wonderful sentiment your two year old said. Diolch yn fawr eto, gobeithio bu ni eich gweld yn y dyfodol. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly D
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My friend and I stayed here as a base for a landscape painting holiday. The area is amazing for photography, sketching and painting.
Ty Mortimer is the most perfect cottage. Its, warm, well equipped, comfortable and very well maintained. Eleri and Rob, the owners, are just next door. They were are so welcoming and generous. Rob even lent me some waterproofs to take a boat trip to Ramsey Island......highly recommended excursion.
We really didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and warm
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your really positive review of your stay with us here at Ty Mortimer. It was great to meet you and hopefully see you in the future. It is such a wonderful place for artists to get the different lights, hope the outcome of landscape painting holiday turned out really special. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxwalfor...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage is beautifully furnished with a few little personally touches. The kitchen has every utensil you would need and the owners are very helpful and friendly. The cottage is in a perfect location for anywhere on the Pembrokeshire coast.

The only thing we didn't realise/read before we got there was that we had to pay for electricity separately to the rental fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We love living at Treginnis and enjoy sharing ideas for places to visit. In order to keep the overall charge down, the electricity can be paid as used instead of adding a nominal sum that may not be used by all.
If per chance it rains, we have included cake baking tins for some culinary creations. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesL201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Cottage!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My friends and I visited St. Davids, staying just outside of the main city in this cottage for three nights. The owners were exceptionally friendly and very supportive in helping us to organise our trip.

The cottage was presented immaculately. It was a good size, with all the ammeneties that I possibly could have required.

We enjoyed sitting outside for al fresco meals, and having direct access to beaches and the Pembrokeshire costal path.

Although we travelled without a car, the support and friendliness of the two local taxi drivers also made this a very possible and affordable venture.

I hope and look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size + Rural Location
Liked least: A tricky front door lock...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay at our cottage, found the amenities to your liking and the local taxi drivers helpful and friendly too. So glad we were able to accommodate you on a short break.
Thank you for your kind review, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith C
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“The athmosphere of the old days, the luxury of 2013 and a stunning location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Rob and Eleri are very friendly "hosts". My husband and I visited Wales for the first time. We love surfing and hiking and arrived with loads of surfgear on our roofrack,
Immediate, Rob and Eleri offered a storage place in there shed for our gear.
We live in a city and we love old houses. This cottage from 1857 is stunning!!! Very beautifully renovated without disturbing the atmosphere from the old days but with all the comfort and space of these days (fast enough Wifi for allround internet use, a well equiped kitchen, a decent tv in the living and a nice bath and good shower).

Straight from the kitchen when we could see the little lambs playing in the whey around the house.
When you like hiking, it is perfect: you can start just from the cottage!
The cottage is just 2 miles awway from St. Davids. A lovely place to walk around and with nice pubs/ restaurants.
tip: the sundowner on the rocks in the middle of the whey is awesome showing the really magnificent landscapes of Pembrokeshire coastal park

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the cottage is above average as well!
Liked least: to leave ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for staying here at Ty Mortimer and for your lovely review. We enjoy making guests feel welcome in order that that they can appreciate St Davids and the peninsular as much as possible. Please mention us to your friends in Holland and hopefully you may come and visit us again with better surfing weather. Best wishes, Rob and Eleri.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing