We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Getaway in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tywyn, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smudge38
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Getaway in a perfect location”
Reviewed 29 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Wonderful family holiday ages ranging from 5 to 82. Bungalow was ideal, very cosy and comfortable. Issues raised in recent review have been resolved.Lovely hosts and very welcoming. Beautiful location with short drive to various local attractions, lots to do and see. We will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davejim
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tranquility and breath taking views”
Reviewed 28 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Stayed for a weekend at Maes Y Wennol with friends to get away from it all. There was 6 of us in the group and the accommodation suited our needs perfectly. Everything was incredibly clean and all in working order. The location is stunning - waking up to views of the beautiful valley which looks out to Bird Rock was incredible. The walks local to the area are fantastic, make sure you take a camera. We went on an 8 mile walk visiting Castell-y-bere on the way. We were constantly stopping to take in the views. Coming back from the walks and lighting a log fire with the view of the sun setting was worth the trip alone.

The cottage was warm with the rayburn burning when we arrived and the log fire ready to light which was a lovely touch. its a very cosy cottage with lots of space to relax and unwind. Sat outside with a glass of wine all we could hear was the stream next to the property . if you are looking for somewhere to feel at home, not worry and completely unwind away from the hussle and bussle, this is the cottage for you.

Thanks to the owners from the whole group for such a lovely break and warm welcome, we will certainly be recomending you and visiting again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalkerSus...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The loveliest place to stay in Mid Wales”
Reviewed 16 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Beautifully situated bungalow in the lovely, unspoilt Dysynni Valley in southern Snowdonia (Mid Wales). It was the family home of the owners - exceptionally welcoming and hospitable people - who now live just a bit further up the valley. (They farm the surrounding land including the slopes of Cader Idris.) It still has the warm feeling of a family home. The views from the bungalow are delightful - Birds Rock is a particularly striking feature, and an easy walk from the bungalow. There is wonderful walking over the hills around, including up to the summit of Cader Idris.

There are four good sized bedrooms two large double rooms - 1 with en suite facilities and 1 with adjoining nursery. The remaining 2 bedrooms are equipped with metallic bunk beds with 2 double beds at the base and single bed on the top. There is a large kitchen, lovely dining room and sitting room and a garden ideal for children.

This is a delightfully quiet area - the nearest shops are about a 15-20 minute drive away in Tywyn (which is on the coast). It’s very much a place to recharge the batteries, and enjoy nature.

I knew when I arrived the first time I had found somewhere special to stay, and have returned since and found it just as special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield...
Lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely first class, a wonderful place, beautifully kept”
Reviewed 15 November 2010 for a stay in January 2010

We have stayed for two years in early January in this fabulously located (and very warm - important in the winter!) house. We cannot recommend it highy enough, the location is stunning, the walking from teh house superb and the facilities are excellent, especially for a small group or a couple of families, and immaculately presented.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LymmJane
lymm
1 review
“Perfect family holiday/getaway”
Reviewed 15 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

My family and I have been visiting Maes-Y-Wennol since the summer of 2008, normally staying for a month each summer and for a week each in the October and February half terms. What keeps us coming back? The welcoming owners, the breathtaking, rural location, the family friendly bungalow. I have four children, aged 11, 7 and 4 year old twins and they all love it. Going to Maes-Y-Wennol has become a family tradiiton and I hope my children will have very fond memories of the time they spent there. The accomodation is extremely flexible, allowing for plenty of friends to visit. The beauty of this place is that we can spend the day pottering about (a walk to the river to throw stones/sticks is popular) or we can be more adventurous if we want. It's fabulous.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing