We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in a refurbished room, which was excellent. We had a balcony from which you could see the sea, across the car park and the main road. The bed was wonderful, and the room was full of nice touches such as being able to adjust the tv so you could watch it from bed or on the sofa. We had a great breakfast, the only downside was cold toast, but where do you ever get hot toast ? We got a fairly good rate, as it was January, but I'd think twice about staying in high season when the rates are a lot higher.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for one night whilst visiting the area. The public areas are stunning and having stayed in the newly refurbished rooms we were disappointed to be in an old fashioned dated room. It was spotlessly clean and large with a seaview. We had a meal in the inn bar i had prawn cocktail which was slightly bland but prawns were fresh and it was a lovely big portion. I then had steak cooked perfectly with huge chunky chips and a divine blue cheese sauce. I have a 3 month old baby and the staff were very helpful when he needed a warm bottle. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. The sausages were rubbish and as it was buffet style everything had dried up a little. They also ran out of mushrooms however they were replaced after 10 minutes. The thing that dissapointed me was there was only fried eggs which i hate although the staff would pobably have remedied this if asked as they were lovely apart from being confused as my dads wife. It was a lovely stay nut once the rooms are all finished iy will be worth the money. I am super fussy as i am a hotel manager and i enjoyed myself

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovely1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Was slightly disappointed on our visit. Took my two youngest in for a meal after school on Thursday, I usually love this place in the winter (I avoid like the plague in the summer!), the service usually improves tenfold and the food is always better, but not it seems this year. I had to ask to be served at the bar even though there were four staff 'having a gossip' in the waitress cubby & the personal chat continued whilst I was being served, I always feel the customer should be given sole attention when being served & having a bar steward more or less ignoring me always irritates.
The menu was a standard issue JW Lees type, with items on that you can run your finger down & practically give them the order codes for (I have been in the catering business for over 20 years). I asked for the specials only to be told they 'weren't doing any tonight'. Shame as I really didn't fancy anything off their menu. I eventually ordered the Tomato & Vegetable Broth for myself, their choice of children's meals as usual was a very decent selection & my youngest had the bacon chop with egg & chips & my middle daughter had the scampi, I also ordered chips & cheese to go with my broth.
The scampi, soup & chips arrived in reasonable time but I had to go and ask to see where the bacon chop was to be answered with a curt 'it's coming' and it did, 5 minutes after the rest of the food.
My soup was delicious although not a broth as stated more of a base tomato soup with raw vegetables thrown in but I liked it so no worries, my daughters meals were also fine & as stated and enjoyed although all the 'chunky' chips were so fat that they were not cooked in the middle & an the cheese on mine was a cold congealed lump so they were left.
Once the food had been deposited we didn't see another member of staff at all and we are slow eaters. No on came to ask if it was okay and we actually left the building without even being noticed (we had paid!).
All in all the food was okay, nothing spectacular. The service - dismissive I'd say and although we will probably go back at some point I would say it's somewhere to go if you cant be bothered to cook, not for an 'occasion'.
Soup, Cheesy Chips, Child's Bacon Chop, Adults Scampi, 2 Diet Cokes & a Large Glass Of White Wine - £36.00 apx

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkcompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel has had a long overdue facelift in 2011, I have visited a few times in the last few years as a business traveller.

To echo previos comments about the noise, its quite unacceptable.

Whilst a fair sum has been invested in the decor, where it was most desparately needed was sound insulation between floors.

Having been rudely woken by people simply moving around and using the toilet in floors above, I couldn't wait to leave.
So awake at five am, five-thirty am, and again at six thirty am - then gave up and took a shower.

This is NOT a noisy guest issue, its a room quality issue - in the main building middle floor you can clearly hear those above taking a leak in the toilet.

No amount of pretty imitation flowers will compensate such a lousy nights sleep.

I would give it a miss, its prettier but no better.

Room Tip: Try another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plutonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a superb hotel. We just stayed for one night. Our room was clean with coffee/tea making facilities and a view of the sea.We only paid £80 which was good value.This included a beautiful cooked breakfast.All hot and not left under those wretched heat lights which keep nothing either hot or fresh.We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was great.£26 per person for three courses all beautifully cooked and served.We had a bottle of Malbec for £14-excellent.
We did not use the pool due to us having colds but we inspected it and it is great-clean and warm!
Overall we will return!

Room Tip: Go for second floor rooms which are big.Those at the end look right over the sea with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafflesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
19.8 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
32.2 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,060 reviews
35.3 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
31.1 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
483 reviews
22.3 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trearddur Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trearddur Bay Hotel

Address: Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,002 - ₹ 14,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trearddur Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Trearddur Bay Hotel Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing