We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
126
99
18
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
99
18
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnooker hallspa bathdriftwood restaurantthe pubsmoking arearooms are spaciousan eyesoreadjacent buildingexcellent value for moneyiron and ironing boardgood sized bathroomquiz nightground floorminute walk to the beachlittle gemgolf clubtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Building doesn't look great from the outside but the room was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast and friendly staff . Stayed on two occasions whilst exploring the area which is stunning. Very reasonably priced and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 181samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Bed clean good night's sleep, that's about it. Not a 4 star at all unless that's the norm for Anglesey. 2 star at best. The adjoining derelict snooker hall really drags the facility down. The images online do not reflect the Motels true appearance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Johnnyboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We completely agree that the neighbouring snooker hall is an eyesore and has been a shared frustration given its close proximity to our business. The owners are working towards safely demolishing the building but we appreciate that it is not a good first impression.

It is worth pointing out though that we do not own the snooker hall and therefore have limited control over the appearance of the building. Our rooms are independently reviewed annually by the Welsh Tourist Board and we work hard to maintain a high standard for guests.

All photos used to promote our business are intended to provide an accurate representation of our property, however, we are happy to review any images you feel “do not reflect the Motels true appearance”. Please feel free to get in touch with us directly if you would like us to review the matter further.

Kind Regards
The Beach Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Booking.com list this motel as a 5 star, the motel itself as a 4 star. I can only assume that it is self-assessed. Rooms are quite large and comfortable but are not at all private as the windows lack net curtains so anyone can gawp at you as they pass. The motel is next to a derelict snooker hall and the gravel car park is full of holes. The Driftwood bar is a throwback to the 1980s so we did not drink or eat there. At £99 per night including breakfast this is poor value for money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our 8.6 rating on booking.com is based on overall customer experience which includes cleanliness, comfort, location, facilities, staff and value for money. The four star rating for our rooms is assessed annually by the Welsh Tourist Board. We do not self-assess.

The windows to the rooms do have curtains and black-out blinds which is generally sufficient for most guests but we will take your comments about on board. We appreciate that the neighbouring snooker hall is an eyesore and has been a shared frustration given its close proximity to our business. The owners are working towards safely demolishing the building but we do understand that it is not a good first impression for visitors. The car park was re-surfaced last autumn but you are right that it needs attention again - something that is being addressed next week in fact.

It's a real shame you didn't have a meal at the Driftwood - our staff are really friendly and we get great feedback on our meals! As an independent, family run business we have to prioritise maintenance, however, we are constantly reinvesting back into the business. Our rooms start from £55 per night, however, as with most holiday accommodation, prices do increase at peak times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The positives. Good size room, clean and well serviced. Comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom...although ours lacked a toilet roll holder. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Plenty of free car parking. Close to the beach. Everything that one would expect from a Motel in this price bracket.

The negatives. The public areas in the Driftwood reception, bar and restaurant need some TLC and a refurb. The "Continental Breakfast" needs to be improved with more options on the menu. Its rather basic. The building is very " industrial" with bare concete sections and galvanised steel outside stairs. The noise from other guests using the stairs can be an issue of you are a light sleeper. I am no expert on the Welsh Tourist Board and its Motel grading system, but a 4 Star rating! Sorry I beg to differ from my personal experience of similar rated establishments throughout the UK.

Much has been written about the derelict snooker hall adjacent to the Motel and the visual impact it has on the business. It is an eyesore and has apparently been so for in excess of 5 years and one that the Motel owners appear unable to impact upon. It certainly impacted upon us and our stay. Its just not a pleasent sight as you approach the Motel.

Other TA reviewers have been more positive in their grading of this Motel. Average for price, location and facilities is the best I can offer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peterwV975TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Just had a weekend at the Beach Motel. Perfect location close to the beach and village facilites. Comfy well equipped rooms. Friendly welcome in the adjoining bar and restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal. If fancy a change there are lots of alternative restaurants with walking distance

Room Tip: Top floor room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliestubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews