We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
126
101
18
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
101
18
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snooker hall spa bath driftwood restaurant the pub smoking area rooms are large an eyesore a ground floor room iron and ironing board comfortable beds excellent value for money quiz night golf club tea and coffee little gem minute walk to the beach excellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Booking.com list this motel as a 5 star, the motel itself as a 4 star. I can only assume that it is self-assessed. Rooms are quite large and comfortable but are not at all private as the windows lack net curtains so anyone can gawp at you as they pass. The motel is next to a derelict snooker hall and the gravel car park is full of holes. The Driftwood bar is a throwback to the 1980s so we did not drink or eat there. At £99 per night including breakfast this is poor value for money.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our 8.6 rating on booking.com is based on overall customer experience which includes cleanliness, comfort, location, facilities, staff and value for money. The four star rating for our rooms is assessed annually by the Welsh Tourist Board. We do not self-assess.

The windows to the rooms do have curtains and black-out blinds which is generally sufficient for most guests but we will take your comments about on board. We appreciate that the neighbouring snooker hall is an eyesore and has been a shared frustration given its close proximity to our business. The owners are working towards safely demolishing the building but we do understand that it is not a good first impression for visitors. The car park was re-surfaced last autumn but you are right that it needs attention again - something that is being addressed next week in fact.

It's a real shame you didn't have a meal at the Driftwood - our staff are really friendly and we get great feedback on our meals! As an independent, family run business we have to prioritise maintenance, however, we are constantly reinvesting back into the business. Our rooms start from £55 per night, however, as with most holiday accommodation, prices do increase at peak times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The positives. Good size room, clean and well serviced. Comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom...although ours lacked a toilet roll holder. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Plenty of free car parking. Close to the beach. Everything that one would expect from a Motel in this price bracket.

The negatives. The public areas in the Driftwood reception, bar and restaurant need some TLC and a refurb. The "Continental Breakfast" needs to be improved with more options on the menu. Its rather basic. The building is very " industrial" with bare concete sections and galvanised steel outside stairs. The noise from other guests using the stairs can be an issue of you are a light sleeper. I am no expert on the Welsh Tourist Board and its Motel grading system, but a 4 Star rating! Sorry I beg to differ from my personal experience of similar rated establishments throughout the UK.

Much has been written about the derelict snooker hall adjacent to the Motel and the visual impact it has on the business. It is an eyesore and has apparently been so for in excess of 5 years and one that the Motel owners appear unable to impact upon. It certainly impacted upon us and our stay. Its just not a pleasent sight as you approach the Motel.

Other TA reviewers have been more positive in their grading of this Motel. Average for price, location and facilities is the best I can offer.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterwV975TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Just had a weekend at the Beach Motel. Perfect location close to the beach and village facilites. Comfy well equipped rooms. Friendly welcome in the adjoining bar and restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal. If fancy a change there are lots of alternative restaurants with walking distance

Room tip: Top floor room
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliestubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The Beach Motel is great value for money. We had a very enjoyable stay, the rooms were very clean and the bed nice and comfortable. The beach is a short walk away and we didn't need to get in our car once. All other accommodation in the area is much more expensive, our advice save yourself a few quid and stay here then spend more money out and about enjoying all the local restaurants and bars. Already planning our next trip!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaneD2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The Beach Motel offers great value for money, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk to the beach and local restaurants and bars. As stated by other reviews the adjoining building is a bit of an eye sore but this didn't dampen our experience at all. If you're looking for great value for money in Trearddur Bay you can't go wrong.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SimonFraserGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews