We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anglesea visit”
Review of The Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Bed clean good night's sleep, that's about it. Not a 4 star at all unless that's the norm for Anglesey. 2 star at best. The adjoining derelict snooker hall really drags the facility down. The images online do not reflect the Motels true appearance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Johnnyboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We completely agree that the neighbouring snooker hall is an eyesore and has been a shared frustration given its close proximity to our business. The owners are working towards safely demolishing the building but we appreciate that it is not a good first impression.

It is worth pointing out though that we do not own the snooker hall and therefore have limited control over the appearance of the building. Our rooms are independently reviewed annually by the Welsh Tourist Board and we work hard to maintain a high standard for guests.

All photos used to promote our business are intended to provide an accurate representation of our property, however, we are happy to review any images you feel “do not reflect the Motels true appearance”. Please feel free to get in touch with us directly if you would like us to review the matter further.

Kind Regards
The Beach Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Booking.com list this motel as a 5 star, the motel itself as a 4 star. I can only assume that it is self-assessed. Rooms are quite large and comfortable but are not at all private as the windows lack net curtains so anyone can gawp at you as they pass. The motel is next to a derelict snooker hall and the gravel car park is full of holes. The Driftwood bar is a throwback to the 1980s so we did not drink or eat there. At £99 per night including breakfast this is poor value for money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our 8.6 rating on booking.com is based on overall customer experience which includes cleanliness, comfort, location, facilities, staff and value for money. The four star rating for our rooms is assessed annually by the Welsh Tourist Board. We do not self-assess.

The windows to the rooms do have curtains and black-out blinds which is generally sufficient for most guests but we will take your comments about on board. We appreciate that the neighbouring snooker hall is an eyesore and has been a shared frustration given its close proximity to our business. The owners are working towards safely demolishing the building but we do understand that it is not a good first impression for visitors. The car park was re-surfaced last autumn but you are right that it needs attention again - something that is being addressed next week in fact.

It's a real shame you didn't have a meal at the Driftwood - our staff are really friendly and we get great feedback on our meals! As an independent, family run business we have to prioritise maintenance, however, we are constantly reinvesting back into the business. Our rooms start from £55 per night, however, as with most holiday accommodation, prices do increase at peak times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The positives. Good size room, clean and well serviced. Comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom...although ours lacked a toilet roll holder. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Plenty of free car parking. Close to the beach. Everything that one would expect from a Motel in this price bracket.

The negatives. The public areas in the Driftwood reception, bar and restaurant need some TLC and a refurb. The "Continental Breakfast" needs to be improved with more options on the menu. Its rather basic. The building is very " industrial" with bare concete sections and galvanised steel outside stairs. The noise from other guests using the stairs can be an issue of you are a light sleeper. I am no expert on the Welsh Tourist Board and its Motel grading system, but a 4 Star rating! Sorry I beg to differ from my personal experience of similar rated establishments throughout the UK.

Much has been written about the derelict snooker hall adjacent to the Motel and the visual impact it has on the business. It is an eyesore and has apparently been so for in excess of 5 years and one that the Motel owners appear unable to impact upon. It certainly impacted upon us and our stay. Its just not a pleasent sight as you approach the Motel.

Other TA reviewers have been more positive in their grading of this Motel. Average for price, location and facilities is the best I can offer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peterwV975TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Just had a weekend at the Beach Motel. Perfect location close to the beach and village facilites. Comfy well equipped rooms. Friendly welcome in the adjoining bar and restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal. If fancy a change there are lots of alternative restaurants with walking distance

Room Tip: Top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliestubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The Beach Motel is great value for money. We had a very enjoyable stay, the rooms were very clean and the bed nice and comfortable. The beach is a short walk away and we didn't need to get in our car once. All other accommodation in the area is much more expensive, our advice save yourself a few quid and stay here then spend more money out and about enjoying all the local restaurants and bars. Already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
0.7 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
3.3 km away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
31.6 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
329 reviews
3.4 km away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
129 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Motel

Address: Lon St. Ffraid | Holyhead, Trearddur Bay LL65 2YT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range: ₹ 5,504 - ₹ 6,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run motel that offers great value accommodation in the heart of Trearddur Bay, Anglesey. We are just short stroll from Trearddur Bay's beautiful blue flag beach and only a 10 minute drive from nearby Holyhead. We have clean, modern rooms that are all en-suite with tea & coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV, hair dryer with free wifi and parking. Our bathrooms are fitted with showers and whirlpool spa baths, perfect to relax in after exploring the island or a day on the beach. Our Driftwood Restaurant & Bar serves delicious homemade food, local cask ales and our famous traditional carvery on a Sunday. For those using the ferry, we are happy to arrange late arrivals and early departures prior to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Trearddur Bay
The Beach Motel Trearddur Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing