We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Trearddur Bay Hotel(Trearddur Bay)
US$ 191
US$ 173
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacroft(Trearddur Bay)
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cymyran(Holyhead)
US$ 130
US$ 126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woburn Hill Hotel(Cemaes Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Hotel(Cemaes Bay)
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 243
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
124
99
18
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
99
18
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnooker hallspa bathdriftwood restaurantthe pubsmoking arearooms are spaciousan eyesoreadjacent buildingexcellent value for moneyiron and ironing boardgood sized bathroomquiz nightground floorminute walk to the beachlittle gemgolf clubtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The positives. Good size room, clean and well serviced. Comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom...although ours lacked a toilet roll holder. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Plenty of free car parking. Close to the beach. Everything that one would expect from a Motel in this price bracket.

The negatives. The public areas in the Driftwood reception, bar and restaurant need some TLC and a refurb. The "Continental Breakfast" needs to be improved with more options on the menu. Its rather basic. The building is very " industrial" with bare concete sections and galvanised steel outside stairs. The noise from other guests using the stairs can be an issue of you are a light sleeper. I am no expert on the Welsh Tourist Board and its Motel grading system, but a 4 Star rating! Sorry I beg to differ from my personal experience of similar rated establishments throughout the UK.

Much has been written about the derelict snooker hall adjacent to the Motel and the visual impact it has on the business. It is an eyesore and has apparently been so for in excess of 5 years and one that the Motel owners appear unable to impact upon. It certainly impacted upon us and our stay. Its just not a pleasent sight as you approach the Motel.

Other TA reviewers have been more positive in their grading of this Motel. Average for price, location and facilities is the best I can offer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peterwV975TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Just had a weekend at the Beach Motel. Perfect location close to the beach and village facilites. Comfy well equipped rooms. Friendly welcome in the adjoining bar and restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal. If fancy a change there are lots of alternative restaurants with walking distance

Room Tip: Top floor room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliestubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The Beach Motel is great value for money. We had a very enjoyable stay, the rooms were very clean and the bed nice and comfortable. The beach is a short walk away and we didn't need to get in our car once. All other accommodation in the area is much more expensive, our advice save yourself a few quid and stay here then spend more money out and about enjoying all the local restaurants and bars. Already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaneD2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The Beach Motel offers great value for money, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk to the beach and local restaurants and bars. As stated by other reviews the adjoining building is a bit of an eye sore but this didn't dampen our experience at all. If you're looking for great value for money in Trearddur Bay you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SimonFraserGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This is why you must not believe all the reviews . The rooms are clean and functional. after that .... forget it. This motel is in the worst area possible. It is down a dirt road and is connected to a derelict building, which I understand as no connection with the motel...except it joined . Absolute nightmare, it looks horrific. The reception is in the pub ( the drift wood ) which is a bit of a local affair. A little jaded if you get what I mean. Unfortunately the rooms look out to a brick wall and the building looks a little like a prison block. I know I sound harsh but I am trying to be honest. We booked for breakfast.... absolutely rubbish don't bother!!!! The breakfast menu said " continental " which amount to toast and cereal . There was nothing else on offer. I had a bacon and egg sandwich which was poor to say the best. £172 with breakfast. although we had one breakfast deducted as we complained. For two rooms for one night. There were three adults in our party. There are far better places to stop in this area, in fact it hard to think of worse any where. I understand that the owner have no control over there adjoining building. but seriously you need to take legal action against the owner of this monstrosity as it is dragging your business down. Or get the council involved to sort it out. I will never stop here again and advice people to seriously look into this place before booking. Don't was your hard earned money unless you want to stop on a dump site. Sorry but it true.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank AndyandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, Owner at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Whilst we appreciate feedback and understand that our accommodation will not necessarily meet all personal preferences, there are some points in your review that we would like to respond to:

The Beach Motel is located in the heart of Trearddur Bay and is only 200 yards away from the main blue flag beach in the village. We do not advertise sea views (which is reflected in our pricing) and we have a free carpark for guests next to the accommodation. Therefore we feel your comment “this motel is in the worst possible area” is misleading.

To suggest our property is located “down a dirt road” is simply not true. The motel is located at the end of a tarmac road. There is a derelict building next to our property which is in the process of being knocked down. Historically our property and the this building were part of a large hotel which is why they are connected. We sympathise that it is indeed an eyesore and a shared frustration, however, as we do not own the building we have limited options over its appearance. We do have an ongoing dialogue with the building owners and understand they are currently working with the local council to safely demolish the building. We apologise for any distress caused.

The motel has the appearance of a motel, hence the name. We have exterior photos of the rooms on our website so we would assume that you would have been aware of the layout & appearance of the building prior to booking. The reception is located in The Driftwood bar & restaurants and whilst this is generally not an issue to guests, we will certainly take your comments on board.

The ‘Continental Breakfast’ includes a selection of cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruits, porridge and pastries. The breakfast bar is self-service and whilst the staff do replenish breakfast items throughout the morning where necessary, most guests will simply ask a member of staff if something has run out.

We are a small, family run business with a hard working team of staff. We offer clean, comfortable and modern accommodation close to the beach. Our team work tirelessly to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay but we do not always get it right and do appreciate feedback.

Kind Regards
The Beach Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews