We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Zoo”

Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See amazing British marine life at Wales' biggest and best aquarium! Enter the shipwreck brimming with Conger Eels and walk the Shark Pool grids! With daily interactive talks, award winning cafe, Anglesey's best gift shop, Captain Jake's crazy golf, the pirates playground, and massive octojump bouncy castle we guarantee a Splashing day out! Open daily from February 14th 2015 to October inclusive, please call or see our website for opening times. Family tickets valid for 7 days(*). * Terms and Conditions Apply.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My review is based on the people that make this Zoo a good place to visit. The zoo's exhibits itself are awful. Really awful. However.....

The people however either in the cafe, shop or helping kids with arts and crafts activities are excellent and really kid friendly.

The accompanying crazy golf and bouncy castle outside are a welcome addition and disguise that the Sea Zoo itself is utterly rubbish.

1  Thank JasonJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Zoo, Admin at Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - all feedback is much appreciated and will be discussed at our regular management meetings.
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Anglesey Sea Zoo, and if you have any particular suggestions on how we might improve, please don't hesitate to get in touch by emailing marketing@angleseyseazoo.co.uk or calling us to discuss it further on 01248 430411. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our members of staff - it's a shame you didn't discuss your concerns with a member of staff during your visit as we will always do our best to ensure you have enjoyed your visit! Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crazy golf"
in 120 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 112 reviews
"play area"
in 72 reviews
"lobster"
in 53 reviews
"gift shop"
in 66 reviews
"marine life"
in 26 reviews
"mini golf"
in 24 reviews
"rainy day"
in 45 reviews
"anglesey sea zoo"
in 38 reviews
"conservation work"
in 13 reviews
"shark feeding"
in 12 reviews
"cuttlefish"
in 10 reviews
"different species"
in 9 reviews
"older children"
in 9 reviews
"really enjoyed our visit"
in 9 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 9 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 34 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on Easter Monday 2018. A wet Bank Holiday day and the place was absolutely packed!! The cashier told us that the main Conger Eal tank was closed. Had I known then that the rest of the exhibition was as poor as it is we wouldn't have forked out over £30 for the family ticket plus £15.45 for the grandparents. We were literally in for half an hour!!! Massive queues to actually see into the misty tanks. Nothing to get excited about in any of them. Biggest central tank closed. Was mentioned when I was paying that because of this we would be offered 25% off our next visit. Wouldn't visit again ever even if it was free. We are regular visitors to Anglesey but this was the first and last time we will ever go there.

3  Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed the Sea Zoo. It's true that we were warned that a couple of the tanks were being repaired, and that we could use our tickets at a later date for a return visit to see these once the work had been completed. It's also true, as a few have commented, that the lighting on some of the tanks is rather low.

Despite this we found the visit a totally enjoyable experience. It's inevitable that tanks holding sea-life will need to be restored from time to time and, personally, I didn't find the low lighting to be a bother. If anything it added to the atmosphere and would be preferable to everything being drenched in bright light.

The younger people with us thought this was one of the highlights of their visit to Anglesey, and they really enjoyed photographing the jellyfish, cuttlefish and sea-horses. We liked that the exhibits were of 'local' fish and marine life rather than exotica from other parts of the world, and we also liked reading about the environmental and rescue mission of the centre. A good place to visit.

Thank RobinFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Zoo, Admin at Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved it . My children were fascinated with all the fish and my eldest even came out with so many facts . We will be returning soon . Can’t wait .

Thank micki2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Zoo, Admin at Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Plenty of fish to see, but they had 2 tanks with building work in progress, so didn't see any sharks, and felt the price was above what it should be, considering that fact. Otherwise, a nice short walk around, stopped off in the overpriced cafe and shop, then left after 90 minutes.

Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Zoo, Admin at Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to write a review – all feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed at our regular management meetings. We would like to apologise for the tanks that were undergoing maintenance during your visit, during our closure over the Winter we have been very busy replacing the glass in these tanks and unfortunately, once replaced and fibre-glassed, these glass tanks have to be allowed several weeks to heal before we can put any marine creatures in them, for the welfare of the animals. We do apologise for this, and we are offering a 25% discount if you return to see these tanks once they are back online – the front room tank is now back online and fully functional!
However, the shark pool has not been restricted to visitors at all since opening and is online as usual, and we do also have several talks a week about the shark pool and the different British shark species within. If you did happen to miss this or anything else, don't forget that we will be offering 25% off your admission cost before the end of May if you bring your original ticket in with you!
Many thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Anglesey Sea Zoo Sw Mor Mon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing