We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a magic place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin Looking up at the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin
Looking up at the entrance
picnic area outside the cabin
View of the cabin
View from the veranda of the cabin
cupboard and shelves inside the cabin, all hand made
wood burner in the cabin
Cosy double bed
Inside the cabin
Dining area inside the cabin
Our first honeymoon couple
lit by candle light
Gas barbecue sheltered underneath the elevated cabin for rainy days
Eco toilet next to the cabin
Main cabin bathroom approx 100m walk through the woods from the cabin
Main cabin bathroom
Entrance to the woodland
woodland walk on our doorstep
red squirrel on the feeders
View across the Menai Strait from Friars bay just a few minutes drive from here
Penmon and puffin Island (10 mins drive from here)
View from White Beach (15mins drive from here)
Beautiful walk to Aber Falls (20mins drive from here)
view between the hills on the walk to Aber Falls
Bridge at Aber Falls
Llyn Crafnant, Trefriw
Menai Suspension Bridge, gate way to Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LanaLord
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a magic place!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this place because of peace and quiet that everyone mentioned in their review. I have not paid attention to facilities, so when the penny dropped and I realised there is no electricity, I was bit worried. I should not have been. The cabin is well equipped. There is drinking water provided, candles, wood for log burner, cutlery, pans and pots, plates, cups.... All that is needed to make simple meals. Under the cabin, there is a barbecue and a gas stove. Cooling box with ice packs is also provided. Eco loo is perfect for use if you don't fancy going to the bathroom, which is 100m away. Bathroom is just for use of the cabin, clean - what else is needed? Power points are provided near the bathroom.
But what makes this place magic are its settings and owners Nan and John. We were greeted on our arrival by both. Nan showed us round and John took our stuff to the cabin in his mule (little truck thing). Nan and John are very welcoming and make you feel at home straight away. They respect your privacy completely, but if you are chatterbox like me, they will happily chat to you like an old friends. They were part of our fantastic experience. The settings. - the only way I can describe then is WOW!!! You have to see for yourself what it is about.
I work in travel industry and had chance to take my husband to some beautiful places, but none of them had an impact on him as this one. With woods, no clock, red squirrels, birds and quiet - you get completely lost in time. We are already planning our next visit. Nan and John - see you soon. PS: two German shepards Koyo and Lucak are pretty amazing too :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you both so much for the fantastic review for Nyth Y Wiwer our eco cabin. It makes us both feel extremely happy to know that our visitors have enjoyed staying here. This time of the year is great because all the wild flowers are out and the woods are a carpet of blue and white from the blue bells and wild garlic and all the birds are busy singing all day long.
We really enjoyed our chats with you and you will always be welcome here. We really look forward to seeing you both again any time you want to come. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommyboy4...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We fell in Love with this Amazing place”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can i say about this place WOW WOW WOW. We loved this place. It was so idyllic, the surroundings were amazing. we had a lovely views and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. the bed was so comfy we wanted to take it home. Nan and John the owners of the premises were so helpful and amazing hosts and couldn't do enough to help. We advise anyone to go and visit Aber Falls it was so beautiful. so wanted to stay longer thank you Nan and John for giving us an amazing bank holiday to remember, we will be coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Oh My Word! What can we say to you both. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review for Nyth Y Wiwer. We can only say that it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are so so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our eco cabin. I think it goes without saying that we would always love to have you back and you will always find a real warm welcome here with us. Thanks again Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Marie...
2 reviews
“Absolutely Spectacular!”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in the wonderful 'squirrels nest'. We were met with an incredibly warm welcome from Nannette & John, the owners. Set upon a hillside surrounded by beautiful woodlands, a stream and a view to the sea, the Eco cabin has found a special place in our hearts. Waking up to red squirrels feeding on nuts, bird song and the sound of the nearby stream was therapy that everyone could use. A stones throw away from a Forrest that wouldn't be out of place in a Tolkein novel; the cabin boasts stunning scenery and real escapism from everyday stresses. We will definitely be back for another stay at the squirrels nest. We cannot rate this special place highly enough!

A huge thanks to Nannette & John for their kindness and hospitality! Hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and natural surroundings.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Whenever we receive a review we are always taken aback by the kind words from all our visitors. It is our aim to ensure everyone who visits Nyth Y Wiwer feel they have escaped from their busy, hectic daily routine and find some real chill out time away from phones, computers and work. But your review nearly made me cry!!!! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and you will always have a very warm welcome if you ever decide to visit us again. Thank you so much, it means the world to us to know that our guests leave here feeling they have had a real break and feel relaxed and refreshed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P W
Worksop
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Amazing weekend. Amazing views. Cosy and relaxing. Beautiful woodland walk into Beaumaris. Nan and John were so friendly and welcoming. Hope to return very soon ( can forward lemon drizzle cake recipe, lol!). Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Hi and thankyou for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer. It was such a pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. Now as far as the lemon drizzle cake is concerned, i am afraid that if you tasted my cooking you might never come here again!!!!!! I can dig, plant, paint , weed and drink wine..... but cooking? Ha! I could always buy one. (lol)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth N
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a hidden gem and I could have stayed for weeks! I wanted somewhere away from noise and light pollution, with only bird song, and this is exactly what I got! The location is beautiful and peaceful, just at the top of the woods with views over the Menai Strait. Red squirrels visited every morning and plenty of birds. The cabin is beautiful, with windows on all sides, very comfortable and cosy, and better equipped than I was expecting. The owners are lovely and extremely helpful. The area is great, with plenty of interesting places to visit and easy access to the rest of Anglesey and also Snowdonia. I would highly recommend this if you want a lovely, comfortable, clean place to stay but still with some of the feelings of camping - cooking on the stove outside, being in nature, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Hi there and thank you so much for your review for our eco cabin, Nyth Y Wiwer. We are so glad that you found everything you needed for your stay and that you found the cabin warm and cosy and comfortable. You will always find a warm welcome here anytime. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing