We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEAUTIFUL HOUSE AND SCENERY”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portmeirion, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

WalesRoad...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL HOUSE AND SCENERY”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house was beautiful and had everything you needed plus more. Plenty of space to lose yourselves in and a secure garden which is brilliant for dogs and children.

Lots of lovely walks from the house including Port Meirion village. A bit far and awkward to walk home from a pub at night.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh flowers and hamper
Liked least: Things too high for short people in the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you had a good time and would love to see you again. It's true that we aren't within walking distance of many pubs - this is good for some people and less so for others! Just for the benefit of other potential guests though, it is possible to walk back from the two restaurants in Portmeirion (which both have bars) with sturdy shoes and a torch if dark. Husband timed it from Castell Deudraeth and it took around 10 minutes. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon38
reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and family stayed at Hafod Cae Maen for my 50th Birthday and had the most wonderful time, we were met by Carys who showed us around the house - thank you for the complimentary basket - the goodies were lovely. You have a beautiful house, and it felt like a second home, absolutely stunning, the gardens are beautiful, and the house has everything required, will be back that's for sure - thank you so much

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you so much for coming and for the lovely review! We are delighted you had a such a great time at the house and honoured that you chose to celebrate your special birthday there. We'd love to see you again, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara3566
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

A fantastic place to stay- a beautiful house in a spectacular location! Wonderful views from the house and garden with a myriad of places to visit in the locality which would appeal to all tastes, young and old (we loved quiet beaches, castles, steam railway and breathtaking landscape - perfect for mountain biking!) .

The house itself has everything you could wish for (and more) with lovely extra touches which make it a very special holiday home. We enjoyed relaxing in front of a roaring fire in the library or playing games from the toy boxes with the children in the elegant sitting room. With its well-appointed kitchen and large dining table this is a great place to enjoy leisurely meals with a group of friends and then retire for a good night's sleep in the very comfortable beds.

I have rarely stayed in holiday accommodation of such high quality. Thank you for a superb break!

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased you love the house and area as much as we do. Please do come and see us again some time soon. Thanks again, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It's difficult to put into words how amazing this house is! It's in an area of breathtaking scenery and the house is as comfortable as you could wish for, with every mod con catered for. I went in October but it was extremely cosy and the perfect place to return to after a long walk in the neighbouring countryside or nearby beaches. The house itself is set in extraordinary grounds and although not too far from the local shops and landmarks, it's also nicely isolated so you feel that you can relax comfortably and enjoy the peace and quiet without anyone in the way. I can guarantee that if you go you'll want to go back!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Dear Tony - thank you so much for your review. We put a lot of effort into Hafod Cae Maen so it's always a delight to receive a lovely review! We hope you will return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, full of character”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with a group of friends and our young family - Hafod Cae Maen was an absolute delight. The house is beautiful (see the pics), set in a stunning location overlooking the Afon Dwyryd Estuary, with all the mod cons and very well restored and maintained. Our kids loved the grounds, and we loved having evenings in the library with an open fire (even in August) and a few bottles of wine. The location is also brilliant for visiting many local attractions - steam railways, mountains, castles, beaches. It was as close to perfect as you're going to get.

Date of stay: August 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the library
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love the place ourselves and it's great that others do too! We are so pleased you had a great time and do hope you'll return before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.