We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reception, lovely location”
Review of Old Hendre Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hendre Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A relatively modern farm house , very comfortable and welcoming ,beautifully decorated rooms , very rural location and a charming and helpful owner who kindly advised us for taxis etc . We arrived at about 5pm after a somewhat trying journey across 2nd Severn Crossing (45 minutes traffic jam) but were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and scone. Great breakfast in morning .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpnh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieBarrell, Owner at Old Hendre Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for finding the time to write a review about my property. It was my pleasure to have you staying with me and letting me know that you appreciated the service I aim to offer everyone. You are welcome to stay anytime .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

Hendre Farm is tucked away in a beautiful bit of countryside on the Welsh side of the river Wye. In the morning you can watch the birds coming to get a drink from the birdbath outside the breakfast room window, or spot a heron descending to the pond down the hill. In the afternoon you can sit out in the garden with a cup of tea (or a beer, if you've supplied yourself!) and enjoy the quiet. Val is a delightful hostess, eager that her guests have a great time and ready to go out of her way to ensure that they do. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and attractive, and the breakfast was magnificent. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone!

The farm is actually on the Offa's Dyke footpath, four miles from Monmouth. Val will do suppers for walkers; guests with cars should be aware that the nearest shops, pubs and restaurants are several miles away along narrow country roads, and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philoxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

My wife Jackie and I sadly had only one night at Old Hendre Farm. This is one of the best if not THE best B&B I've ever stayed in.
The room was large, the bed supremely comfortable, the views out of the window were wonderful, we even had some House-Martins coming to nest under the eaves. Everything about Old Hendre was immaculate, Val our host was lovely and she cooked a wonderful breakfast. Next time we want somewhere to stay in the Monmouth area it will definitely be here.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saskatoondave1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieBarrell, Owner at Old Hendre Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words . it is rewarding to be appreciated and lets hope you can stay longer next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

An absolute gem of a bed and breakfast with a simply lovely landlady who really looked after us after the first 23 miles of our Offas Dyke trail walk, greeting us with cold beers on our arrival.
Beautiful rooms, stunning views and a great breakfast. Thank you Val.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I stayed this past weekend at Old Hendre farm with three friends after a very difficult day walking 24 miles in thirty degree heat. It was like walking into paradise, Val greeted us at the door with craft ales and a brief rundown of where our rooms were, the facilities and where we were having breakfast.

After that she needed to go and finish of the days bailing with her husband.

What a beautiful home, gorgeous views, hot water, comfy beds, TV's in every room and all immaculately presented with a lovely and accommodating host.

The cooked breakfast the morning after was fantastic, and Val very kindly gave me access to her first aid box which basically allowed me to continue walking, without her I would have had to stop for sure.

I can't speak highly enough of this B&B, don't bother looking anywhere else, just book, you won't be disappointed. We were all singing Val's praises for the rest of the trip.

Thank you again Val, you made the end of a difficult day just lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
5.2 km away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
4.7 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
5.3 km away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
5 km away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
275 reviews
5.1 km away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hendre Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hendre Farm

Address: Wonastow, Monmouth NP25 4DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Hendre Farm is situated in a quiet location on the Welsh Border just outside the lovely town of Monmouth. The modern farmhouse - set in its own half acre of garden - offers three rooms which are all en-suite. They have WIFI access, freeview television and a courtesy tray. A hearty breakfast is served using our own eggs and local produce. We cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten -free diets - just let us know beforehand preferably when you make a booking. We provide off road and secure parking and for those wanting an activity holiday there is storage for trailers ,bikes, canoes and motorcycles. Offa's Dyke Path passes our doorstep and the Rolls of Monmouth Golf Course joins the farmland. The woodlands around us offer many tracks And bridlepaths for you to explore. We welcome walkers, birdwatchers, cyclists, canoeists golfers and horse riders. There are laundry and drying facilities for those in need. If you prefer a sight-seeing or more leisurely holiday we have much to offer in this area. We are within an hour travelling to Cardiff , Bristol , Bath, Hereford, Hay-on Wye, Abergavenny,. The Forest of Dean , The Wye Valley , The Black Mountains and The Brecon Beacons . Situated close to the borderland between England and Wales there is a rich heritage of Castles, fortifications and Abbeys. Monmouth our local town is famous for its unique 13th century Bridge gate and is teaming with History. If you come for an overnight stay - a short break or a longer holiday in this beautiful region - you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Hendre Farm Monmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing