We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage well located for Snowdonia”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ship Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llanrug, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antequera...
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage well located for Snowdonia”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Basil has done a wonderful job renovating this classic stone two-storey cottage. We only stayed a weekend, but it would make a perfect base for a week of exploring Snowdonia. The kitchen is well equipped and the downstairs bathroom is a dream. Basil's a great host and there's loads of local information for you to browse. The village of Llanrug is very small, so it's probably best if you have transport although we took the bus to and from the national park to avoid parking problems in Llanberis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the room, especially the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
410roy
Corlette, Australia
1 review
“Glorious getaway in Snowdonia”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful four day stay at Basils place, Basil was the perfect host, friendly helpful , and generous. The house which is a 300yr old stone cottage , is perfectly set up and well thought out .
It has recently been upgraded to a very high standard, my wife ,who can be a tough critic ,loved it so much that she did not want to leave l! We hope/intend to be back one day :-D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house and location
Liked least: wifi would be a plus
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Guests had a very active stay, walking up Snowdon. A very pleasant couple who were very considerate and who left the cottage spotless. Would love to host them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgeTaco...
Tacoma
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ship Cottage - a wonderful delight!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were on a driving tour of Great Britain and needed a place to stay in northern Wales. We stayed at the Ship Cottage and our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The host/owner stays near by so we had the two floor cottage to ourselves. It is an old building that has been carefully restored and updated with modern kitchen and bathroom fixtures. All the furnishings showed a meticulous attention to detail. The host, Basil, was delightful and accommodating. There are two bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen with an all-in-one clothes washing machine/dryer. The cottage has capacity for four people comfortably. When we return to northern Wales we will make a point of staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loving restoration of the cottage.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Wonderful guests in every way. I would not hesitate to have them back here and I recommend them to any future hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinng
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Newly renovated cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was newly renovated. Everything is almost new. Washing machine, stove, bath etc. The owner lives next door if you need anything.Will definitely return again when the mountain call me.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage with Excellant Facilities - we will stay there again !!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wow !! Myself, my wife and our 3 year old have just stayed at this beautiful cottage for the first time for a weekend. It is beautiful !! It is immaculately clean and has all the facilities anyone should need - plus more, including a washing machine, microwave and lovely corner bath. The lounge with its' log burning stove was perfect to return to after a lovely walk in the amazing Snowdonian Mountains on a windy October's day. The interior is well-organised and all in excellent condition.

An amazing holiday cottage which feels more like home !

We absolutely loved our brief stay there and will definitely be returning for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing