We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were a party of seven staying for two nights over the weekend. We were given a very warm welcome by the friendly hosts and our stay was excellent. Wonderful food in the atmospheric basement which was once the local jail, the" posh fish pie" and the Thai broth were both outstanding. The four rooms which we were allocated were very comfortable with good facilities. The hotel is well placed for guests to explore the wonderful countryside and we enjoyed a walk to Barmouth on the Mawddach Trail (9 miles) and return by local bus. The hotel has no car park but we were all able to park quite easily close to the hotel. We all thoroughly enjoyed a great weekend thanks to the efforts of Mark, Nick and all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Many thanks indeed Bob, we are really pleased you all had a lovely time with us and especially enjoyed our food in the restaurant - the good weather helped too!
We hope to see you all again in the future,
Kind regards Marc, Nick and everybody at Y Meirionnydd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    50
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
206
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

What a great find - so pleased we stayed here rather than anywhere else we considered - great evening meal, perfect breakie and lovely bar area - a lovely relaxing place to return to after a day out - The owners are exceptionally friendly. If you're staying in Dolgellau, you want to stay here. In terms of value for money, it is spot on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottingham_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you both for you great review, much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurant and bar, we hope to begin work on the restaurant in January and look forward to welcoming you back to show the end result.
Many thanks,
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed at the Y Meirionnydd over the August Bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service was impeccable from the minute we arrived with honest and much appreciated information about local surrounding areas.

Parking was the only thing that required 'work' but if you get there quick theres parking right outside.

Room was exactly what was shown on the website, clean and well decorated.

Excellent well stocked bar and the best part of our stay was the food! As a vegetarian I am often served 'slop' on a plate but the food here can not be faulted. Breakfast sets you up well and main meal in the cellar was cooked to perfection with excellent service.

Overall great trip and would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the square which can have some pub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you both for writing a great review, glad you had a great weekend. We pride ourselves on our service from us and our excelent members of staff who really try to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again next year,
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel's web site has some good pictures which show the tasteful modern interior of an old granite building in the middle of the town. It didn't disappoint in decor, cleanliness, service, or the bedroom, and gave us a lovely night's sleep in a very comfy bed, with a tumbling stream below the window. The bar stocks Welsh gin and whiskey and good local bottled beer. Our evening meal was in the cellar which has a low ceiling, so there are padded roof beams.
The restaurant was full, so we think the locals like the place! We both had excellent spiced parsnip soup to start and a very nice 'fish pie' which was unbeatable. The delicious breakfast couldn't be faulted and was served delightfully. All in all it was a very enjoyable experience. You might have to use the large town car park which is a 5 minute walk away, but there is limited parking both outside the hotel and in nearby streets. Dolgellau is a delightful town, and if you have time, and want a unique venue, free WiFi, an art exhibition and the best cakes and hot chocolate in Wales, (we think so!) look for an ex hardware shop called 'Roberts' in Parliament House, in the centre of the town.

Room Tip: Cader Idris (the room with a view of the mountain,at the back of the hotel) is quiet, small, but bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked a last minute overnight stay here along with dinner in the restaurant. Our table was reserved for 9pm, but due to horrendous traffic we only arrived at the hotel following a day of mountain biking at exactly 9pm! Muddy and dishevelled we were in no fit state to tuck in straight away. This was absolutely no issue, we were made to feel very welcome, unhurried and had a table made ready for whenever we were. Although the last to be seated in the restaurant at 9.30pm, our whole evening was not made to feel rushed, quite the opposite!

Dinner was a full three courses for both of us, all of which were of high quality. Including a whole bottle of very decent Rose, in fact one of the best house wines I have had in a while, along with a glass of port our total reataurant bill was only £85, very decent I felt for what we received.

We stayed in Eryri which is a lovely modern double. The bed was very comfortable, the linen of good quality and the ensuite contemporary rainfall shower amazing as the start or end of a great day. This bedroom overlooked the front of the property and despite this was very quiet. I can't believe this room wasn't even the best in the hotel!

Overall the service we received here from everyone was second to none. We couldn't have been happier with every part of our stay. All the staff were friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful, even topping up our camelbak's for the next day of mountain biking! We will definitely be returning and would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
3.1 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
6.3 km away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
39.3 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.6 km away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
156 reviews
12.2 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Property: Y Meirionnydd
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,342 - ₹ 11,219
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Wales
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing