We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b, great area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #7 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

On arrival we had a very friendly welcome & because we were the only guests that night, we had a choice of rooms. We chose the upstairs room, particularly to take advantage of the stunning view.
The breakfast was superb & would strongly recommend the granola, home made by Mrs Evans. It was beautiful!
Mrs Evans was also very helpful in recommending places to visit & pointing out local gems that might otherwise have been overlooked. She also had local maps & leaflets freely available for guests to use or borrow.
It was certainly a lovely place to stay in a great area to visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Last week we stayed 3 nights in this beautiful farmhouse.
Olwen is a very good host and everything was perfect.
Great vieuw and marvelous breakfast.
We surely will come back.
We had a great time .
Our breakfast was all homemade,
The room was very fabulous,and the bathroom has a lot off space,
Thanks Olwen for spending time with you,

Greats John and Marion

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

A break away for a birthday treat and I wasn't disappointed !! From the moment we arrived we had a lovely welcome from the farmhouse owner "Olwen " whom gave us a great welcome , tea and coffee on the patio looking out at the stunning views ..and that was just the beginning of our 3 days .. the deluxe ground floor room was beautiful , clean and comfortable and as good as the best Hotel if not better !!!
Breakfast was a 2 course , with Olwen's homemade muesli ( scrumptious ) , jams and smoothies ( amazing ) with fruit, croissants , followed by a cooked breakfast ( tasty and filling ) which was different everyday and still followed by toast ..... Olwen works hard to keep this beautiful farmhouse tidy and her excellent hosting skills are rewarded with awards that are hanging on the wall and is truly deserved..this truly has to be the best place to stay near Dolgellau with the best views of the mountains and close to the lakes , we walked , we climbed and we drove to see the most beautiful stunning sights which were amazing ....
My birthday will be remembered for "the one where me and Gary went to the farmhouse in Dolgellau" !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The B&B is very homely, the rooms are gorgeous and views breathtaking.
I would have happily paid more money to stay there, it was just the perfect place.
Breakfast is homemade with 2 courses.
There are a lot of little things that made this stay memorable and I would advise everyone to experience it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Tyddyn Mawr must be the best sited B&B in Wales. Where else could you open the curtains and see the moon above Cadair Idris and the first light of day coming over the mountain? And it's virtually at the foot of the Fox's Path, the most dramatic and challenging route up Cadair (it's also near the start of the Pony Trail, if you need luxury). And on top of that, Olwen gives you a warm welcome, a comfortable room and bed, and homemade muesli, jam and smoothies (and a cup of tea when you come down from the mountain). All in all, the nearest thing you'll find to heaven.

Gallwch chi anghofio am holl broblemau'r byd yma. Mae Tyddyn Mawr yn ddihanfa ddigymar. Ymwelwch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
5.9 km away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 km away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#5 of 34 in Dolgellau
555 reviews
8.9 km away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
160 reviews
3.4 km away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
200 reviews
3.1 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: ₹ 8,684 - ₹ 9,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing