We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
159
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslimrs evanshome madecadair idrisfrench doorshomemade jamsthe ground floorupstairs roomstunning viewsmaple syrupsheep farmworking farmlocal honeyb and bfresh flowerswarm welcomecooked meal
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Last week we stayed 3 nights in this beautiful farmhouse.
Olwen is a very good host and everything was perfect.
Great vieuw and marvelous breakfast.
We surely will come back.
We had a great time .
Our breakfast was all homemade,
The room was very fabulous,and the bathroom has a lot off space,
Thanks Olwen for spending time with you,

Greats John and Marion

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

A break away for a birthday treat and I wasn't disappointed !! From the moment we arrived we had a lovely welcome from the farmhouse owner "Olwen " whom gave us a great welcome , tea and coffee on the patio looking out at the stunning views ..and that was just the beginning of our 3 days .. the deluxe ground floor room was beautiful , clean and comfortable and as good as the best Hotel if not better !!!
Breakfast was a 2 course , with Olwen's homemade muesli ( scrumptious ) , jams and smoothies ( amazing ) with fruit, croissants , followed by a cooked breakfast ( tasty and filling ) which was different everyday and still followed by toast ..... Olwen works hard to keep this beautiful farmhouse tidy and her excellent hosting skills are rewarded with awards that are hanging on the wall and is truly deserved..this truly has to be the best place to stay near Dolgellau with the best views of the mountains and close to the lakes , we walked , we climbed and we drove to see the most beautiful stunning sights which were amazing ....
My birthday will be remembered for "the one where me and Gary went to the farmhouse in Dolgellau" !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The B&B is very homely, the rooms are gorgeous and views breathtaking.
I would have happily paid more money to stay there, it was just the perfect place.
Breakfast is homemade with 2 courses.
There are a lot of little things that made this stay memorable and I would advise everyone to experience it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Tyddyn Mawr must be the best sited B&B in Wales. Where else could you open the curtains and see the moon above Cadair Idris and the first light of day coming over the mountain? And it's virtually at the foot of the Fox's Path, the most dramatic and challenging route up Cadair (it's also near the start of the Pony Trail, if you need luxury). And on top of that, Olwen gives you a warm welcome, a comfortable room and bed, and homemade muesli, jam and smoothies (and a cup of tea when you come down from the mountain). All in all, the nearest thing you'll find to heaven.

Gallwch chi anghofio am holl broblemau'r byd yma. Mae Tyddyn Mawr yn ddihanfa ddigymar. Ymwelwch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Tyddyn Mawr, a sheep farm near Dolgellau, for 4 nights, but would happily have stayed a week longer. The B&B offers two very nice, spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent facilities, one of them on the ground floor, the other with a balcony. All the usual amenities were provided, even including several types of power adapters. Guests also enjoy the use of a cosy lounge / breakfast room.
Olwen, the friendly hostess, will give you great advice on walks, where to eat, local up-to-date weather forecasts, rainy day options etc. There is also plenty of information available in the lounge (walking maps, guides etc.).
Breakfast was plentiful and served every morning on a beautifully set table. What we really appreciated was the effort Olwen went into to make it special. Each morning there was another type of mini smoothie, another variety of fresh fruit and something different on the cooked part of the menu. Even the muesli was homemade (I should have asked for the recipe). Where breakfast in other places often tends to be predictable, here it was a pleasant surprise every morning.
Tyddyn Mawr is located on the slopes of Cadair Idris and forms a great base for many hikes in the area. Dolgellau, with its restaurants and shops, is at a short 5-10 minute drive (without a car / bycicle it may be less practical).

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Warnawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews