We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, best place in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The B&B is very homely, the rooms are gorgeous and views breathtaking.
I would have happily paid more money to stay there, it was just the perfect place.
Breakfast is homemade with 2 courses.
There are a lot of little things that made this stay memorable and I would advise everyone to experience it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Tyddyn Mawr must be the best sited B&B in Wales. Where else could you open the curtains and see the moon above Cadair Idris and the first light of day coming over the mountain? And it's virtually at the foot of the Fox's Path, the most dramatic and challenging route up Cadair (it's also near the start of the Pony Trail, if you need luxury). And on top of that, Olwen gives you a warm welcome, a comfortable room and bed, and homemade muesli, jam and smoothies (and a cup of tea when you come down from the mountain). All in all, the nearest thing you'll find to heaven.

Gallwch chi anghofio am holl broblemau'r byd yma. Mae Tyddyn Mawr yn ddihanfa ddigymar. Ymwelwch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Tyddyn Mawr, a sheep farm near Dolgellau, for 4 nights, but would happily have stayed a week longer. The B&B offers two very nice, spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent facilities, one of them on the ground floor, the other with a balcony. All the usual amenities were provided, even including several types of power adapters. Guests also enjoy the use of a cosy lounge / breakfast room.
Olwen, the friendly hostess, will give you great advice on walks, where to eat, local up-to-date weather forecasts, rainy day options etc. There is also plenty of information available in the lounge (walking maps, guides etc.).
Breakfast was plentiful and served every morning on a beautifully set table. What we really appreciated was the effort Olwen went into to make it special. Each morning there was another type of mini smoothie, another variety of fresh fruit and something different on the cooked part of the menu. Even the muesli was homemade (I should have asked for the recipe). Where breakfast in other places often tends to be predictable, here it was a pleasant surprise every morning.
Tyddyn Mawr is located on the slopes of Cadair Idris and forms a great base for many hikes in the area. Dolgellau, with its restaurants and shops, is at a short 5-10 minute drive (without a car / bycicle it may be less practical).

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Warnawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed at this very well run b&b for just one night but will definitely return. The location at the base of Cader Idris is simply magical and the attention to detail in the b&b exemplary. Olwen made us very welcome and we really did feel at home. Our room was tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, fresh flowers adorned every room. Breakfast was outstanding and there was plenty of it. The homemade jams, marmalade and muesli were all divine and the local honey delicious. With melt in the mouth croissants, toast and a cooked breakfast as well we most certainly did not leave feeling hungry! Olwen your b&b is a credit to you, thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again in the Spring.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Great scenery, wonderful hostess, large clean, well furnished room, and very delicious, bountiful breakfast. We are experienced travelers from US but have never been to Wales before. What a great country and this hotel experience was perhaps the best we have had on the 6 different continents we have travelled.

Room Tip: All rooms are special. Not just a hotel room but a wonderful experience overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.9 km away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.4 km away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
158 reviews
8.9 km away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
19.7 km away
Pen Y Garth
Pen Y Garth
#2 of 14 in Harlech
112 reviews
5.7 km away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: ₹ 8,263 - ₹ 8,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing