We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George III Hotel(Penmaenpool)
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$ 189
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy House(Dolgellau)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
159
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslimrs evanshome madecadair idrisfrench doorshomemade jamsthe ground floorupstairs roomstunning viewsmaple syrupsheep farmworking farmlocal honeyb and bfresh flowerswarm welcomecooked meal
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Tyddyn Mawr must be the best sited B&B in Wales. Where else could you open the curtains and see the moon above Cadair Idris and the first light of day coming over the mountain? And it's virtually at the foot of the Fox's Path, the most dramatic and challenging route up Cadair (it's also near the start of the Pony Trail, if you need luxury). And on top of that, Olwen gives you a warm welcome, a comfortable room and bed, and homemade muesli, jam and smoothies (and a cup of tea when you come down from the mountain). All in all, the nearest thing you'll find to heaven.

Gallwch chi anghofio am holl broblemau'r byd yma. Mae Tyddyn Mawr yn ddihanfa ddigymar. Ymwelwch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Tyddyn Mawr, a sheep farm near Dolgellau, for 4 nights, but would happily have stayed a week longer. The B&B offers two very nice, spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent facilities, one of them on the ground floor, the other with a balcony. All the usual amenities were provided, even including several types of power adapters. Guests also enjoy the use of a cosy lounge / breakfast room.
Olwen, the friendly hostess, will give you great advice on walks, where to eat, local up-to-date weather forecasts, rainy day options etc. There is also plenty of information available in the lounge (walking maps, guides etc.).
Breakfast was plentiful and served every morning on a beautifully set table. What we really appreciated was the effort Olwen went into to make it special. Each morning there was another type of mini smoothie, another variety of fresh fruit and something different on the cooked part of the menu. Even the muesli was homemade (I should have asked for the recipe). Where breakfast in other places often tends to be predictable, here it was a pleasant surprise every morning.
Tyddyn Mawr is located on the slopes of Cadair Idris and forms a great base for many hikes in the area. Dolgellau, with its restaurants and shops, is at a short 5-10 minute drive (without a car / bycicle it may be less practical).

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Warnawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed at this very well run b&b for just one night but will definitely return. The location at the base of Cader Idris is simply magical and the attention to detail in the b&b exemplary. Olwen made us very welcome and we really did feel at home. Our room was tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, fresh flowers adorned every room. Breakfast was outstanding and there was plenty of it. The homemade jams, marmalade and muesli were all divine and the local honey delicious. With melt in the mouth croissants, toast and a cooked breakfast as well we most certainly did not leave feeling hungry! Olwen your b&b is a credit to you, thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again in the Spring.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Great scenery, wonderful hostess, large clean, well furnished room, and very delicious, bountiful breakfast. We are experienced travelers from US but have never been to Wales before. What a great country and this hotel experience was perhaps the best we have had on the 6 different continents we have travelled.

Room Tip: All rooms are special. Not just a hotel room but a wonderful experience overall.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Mrs. Evans made us feel very welcome during our two week stay at Beudy Uchaf. We tremendously enjoyed this comfortable, well equipped and spacious cottage set in a most peaceful location! We loved walking from the cottage to Gregennen Lake and to the top of the Cader Idris via the Pony Path. We would defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonienr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews