We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bontnewydd, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sabina Y
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage ”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Me and my partner and our 2children went for a four day stay in this lovely little cottage and we had a great time there! The cottage is about 20 mins drive from the Snowdonia Mountain and we couldn't have asked for a better place then this! It had everything we needed from kitchen utensils, the lovely bedroom and the living area, it was lovely and cosy! I would highly recommend this place to anyone for a lovely little get a away! Not to forget my kids loved the lovely view from the bedroom which was so many Sheep's!
I would definitely be going back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_abiex
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My partner and I loved our stay at Damavand. The cottage is surrounded by fields and sheep, and the views are absolutely stunning. There is a nice big window by the dining table which adds romance to each meal time. The cottage had everything we needed, however the internet ran out after one day which was disappointing. There are supermarkets and a variety of amazing restaurants in Caernarfon which is only a 15 minute drive away. I was sad to leave and would definitely love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
1 review
“trip hazard speed bump in the living room!”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage has a trip hazard in the living room - a ridge about 6" high and a foot across - like a weird laminated speed bump. Disguised by the floor covering and potentially lethal. It runs across the width of the cottage between the living and kitchen area and could not be avoided. The owner must be aware as the skirting board has been stuck on to take account of it! The decor is tired and it wasn't too clean either. And the people in the cottage upstairs have to walk past your main window to get to theirs. And you can hear them moving about through the ceiling....And the garden is tiny too...I would give it 0/5 if that was possible

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bontnewydd hotels

Mary P
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A neglected cash cow”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Property needs updating and smartening up. Unmarked trip hazard in the form of a hump across width of main room, disguised to look like normal flooring. Not good if you are unsteady on your feet. No bedding for bed settee and the matress was damp and smelly. Grass - could not call it a lawn - was noisily strimmed while we were there, even though there was ample opportunity while we were out. No wine for us, just a cheap pack of biscuits. Still waiting for the agent, Sykes, to comment. We got the impression that this property is just a money maker and the owner does not wish to invest to keep it up to scratch. Not worth what we paid for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The accomodation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location shame about the cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week in the middle of june as a family of four with two young children (2yr old and a 7 month old) The cottage itself was comfortable enough with a good size living area and fully equiped kitchen with a dishwasher, coffee maker, microwave, range cooker. The only bedroom was a good size and we easily had enough space for our travel cot. The location was very pretty. We could see the sea and mountains in the distance and we were surrounded by lots and lots of sheep. The location is great for exploring north wales and there is a big supermarket about a 15 minute drive away.
Now for the negatives. The cottage wasnt very clean. The rug on the living room floor was manky to say the least, there was dust and bits of food on the floor from the previous occupant, the toilet had a very strong smell of urine and there was a musty smell in the bedroom. The cottage was pooy maintained. There walls by the front door were filthy, the grounds around the cottage were poorly maintained and on two seperate occasions while out walking with our two young kids we found dead sheep. After telling the land owner about the sheep all he done was hid them in bushes but we could still see them and smell them. Not exactly what you want your two year old to see. The owner clearly doesnt care about this property which is a shame because with a good clean and a bit of looking after this would be a lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing