We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely cottage with helpful owners”
other travellers have booked this property
Gwenoldy is a luxuriously converted 18th century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gwenoldy is a luxuriously converted 18th century stone cottage
Gwenoldy is an 18th century detached stone barn with a 21st century makeover Our former farmhouse and outbuildings lie next to Gwenoldy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Gwenoldy is a luxuriously converted 18th century stone cottage
Gwenoldy is an 18th century detached stone barn with a 21st century makeover
Our former farmhouse and outbuildings lie next to Gwenoldy
The woodburner and central heating will keep you lovely and warm if it's cold outside
The comfortable sitting room has a widescreen TV, hi-fi and wi-fi
The cottage has direct access to a large garden
This is a cook's kitchen - but there are are great restaurants and gastro-pubs nearby
After days exploring local castles and beaches this is a great place to relax
If you have time, there are books and games galore
We welcome you with a bottle of wine and a delicious homemade cake
Photographs of local scenes decorate the cottage
Light and airy bedrooms offer plenty of storage space
Our comfortable beds promise you a good night's sleep
You can watch the sun come up from the arched window
From the twin bedroom, along the landing to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom retains an original roof truss (and a welcoming teddy bear)
The view is to the cottage's garden
There is a shower over the bath, and a great view of the hills when you are cleaning your teeth
Complimentary toiletries are provided
Younger visitors love the swings and football goals
The views are panoramic, including the Flintshire plain and the Clwydian Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caerwys, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenn G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homely cottage with helpful owners”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

High quality accommodation with almost everything thought of to make the stay pleasant. High chair, cot bed, an excellent things to do folder specific to glenoldy, some toys, books and local guides, home made cake and even kids wellies were all provided gladly by the owners. The views from the cottage are spectacular and this is an ideal place to relax or use as a base to explore North Wales. We found here through Alistair Sawdays and even though we have found many great places through that website Gwenoldy has been one of our favourites.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2015
We're delighted that you liked the cottage and the area so much. Thankfully the children's wellies weren't needed every day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneT50...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Gwenoldy cottage is a beautifully furnished and decorated cottage with a cosy, yet airy feel. The views are breath taking and the peace and quiet blissful. We were greeted with a smile by Ian, who was very friendly and informative both about the facilities within the cottage and the surrounding area. Elizabeth was away for a few days when we arrived but she left a delicious home made lemon drizzle cake and a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge! We have stayed in self-catering cottages before that have obviously been kitted out with the owners' cast off furniture, white goods, crockery and cutlery. Not so with Gwenoldy. Everything is top quality, in excellent condition and in good working order. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything that you could possibly need. There are lots of lovely walks from the door aided by many detailed maps and tourist guides housed in the well-stocked bookshelf (along with some jigsaws and games). We slept soundly on the very comfy king-sized bed dressed with beautiful embroidered linen. Even Rod Stewart (the name we gave the cockerel) didn't crow until a very civilised 7.30am! There is a pretty private garden directly outside the back door of the cottage within large, beautifully planted gardens to explore and enjoy. We had a lovely meal at the nearby Afonwen Craft Centre - a very pleasant and interesting place to visit. The cottage is also well placed for visits to the gorgeous coastline of North-East Wales. The icing on the cake for me was when we watched the full moon rise up over the horizon from the arched bedroom window. A magical experience on my birthday that I will always remember. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gwenoldy and look forward to returning again for another week of battery re-charging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep hill approach - our old car didn't like it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Do come again - the cottage and its surroundings are lovely at all times of year. Elizabeth and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel s
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful holiday one that will create lasting happy childhood meomories”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for great hosts who cater for your every need from home made cake to a potty for your toddler... go to Gwenoldy!, They offer a 5 star service catering for all types of visitors, family or couples alike. Space for children to explore. Breath taking scenery and walks on your doorstep, Craft center with daily demonstrations at the bottom of the hill, friendly village with fantastic butcher and delicatessen. Information on local attractions carefully compiled by Ian and Liz including travel times from the cottage which was invaluable when planning trips. Country magazines, lovely furnishings giving it a home from home feel (even had a mixer to bake a cake!), Comfy beds with quality bedding and a cottage which is beautifully maintained, Numerous outdoor toys from garden connect four to a mini trampoline and bike and best of all the space for children to roam. The attention to detail in the cottage caters for those looking for a cosy retreat (with log burning stove) to recharge your batteries, or a family holiday alike. We had a wonderful family break and the children loved it and have happy memories of feeding chickens and eating their blue eggs, and taking turns to run up the track to open and close the farm gate when we went out in the car. Thankyou Ian and Elizabeth for your kindness and lovely cottage. The McCann gang!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space to roam and attention detail
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Gwenoldy so much and very much hope that we shall see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia216
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and location”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just returned from 5 lovely days in this cottage. The area is wonderful for walking. Arrived to a welcoming host, Liz, and a home baked cake and bottle of wine!

The cottage was delightful. Cosy, warm and spotlessly clean. Everything was catered for - even some sun most days after all the awful storms.

Certainly hope to return this summer and thoroughly recommend, especially anyone who loves walking and beautiful scenery, quiet location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we are thrilled that you liked the cottage and the area so much. We would love to see you here again - as you say, come in the summer and enjoy (hopefully!) some warmer weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nia D
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful retreat! Just like the swallows in the name, you'll want to return!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Gwenlody is located in a secluded spot overlooking some of Wales' rolling hills and upon arrival you are greeted by its welcoming, cosy warmth. Essentially, everything within the property is made as easy and as enjoyable as possible for the guest.

In a nutshell, Gwenoldy shows Wales at its best: welcoming, scenic and above all a 'home from home'.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again soon. Elizabeth and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing