We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly elegance”
Review of Plas Penucha

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerwys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Penucha
Ranked #1 of 1 Caerwys B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We three friends were walking Offa's Dyke on the Welsh border and were delighted to stay at this country house with a mat friendly welcome from Mrs Price who gave us a lift two miles to a local restaurant in the evening. Delightful rooms and a wonderful sitting room/ library with wooden panelling and a grand piano.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

An amazing old place - with an interesting history.
Unfortunately we felt that there were a number of things that no longer worked very well.
There was a mix up about our room, and we felt that our host was generally a bit forgetful about things. We did have a lovely cup of tea with biscuits on arriving - but the dog (?) poo in the lounge rather detracted from the coziness.
When we did get our room there was a rather impractical see-through shower in the middle of the (freezing) room. We were offered the use of another bathroom luckily.
We'd ordered an evening meal but were driven to a local restaurant indstead.
The plates and cutlery the next morning were'n't properly washed.
All in all a real shame that the poor service and hygiene detracted from an otherwise lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Beautiful , charming building with lots of history . Great service from Nest who is very sweet and will make sure you have everything you need for your stay. Check out the big old grandfather clock!
Lovely fresh rooms and comfortable bed where you open your window to stunning grounds and a striking sunrise!
Great breakfast provided in the morning.
Post code takes you to a farm nearby so when it tells you to turn left right at the end , don't! Carry on straight for half a mile and you'll find it !

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucygroves15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We reached Plas Penucha after a long, hot 12 miles along the Dyke and were immediately offered tea and biscuits in front of a welcome fire in a beautiful old room. The bed was comfortable, the house was full of history, food was excellent and the lift back to the Path at Cefn Du was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisApril2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

At Plas Penucha you will have a sense of having stepped back in time, while enjoying comfortable modern amenities.
The two huge wings of the ground floor of the house feature arts and craft wooden panelling on the walls, lovely old welsh cabinetry and bay windows looking out into the beautiful gardens. The walls are hung with a range of interesting art works, including some tapestries done in the early 19 c by an ancestor of the current owner, and there is a vast library to access, with an emphasis on welsh and local history.
The accomodation is in comfortable spacious rooms most looking out onto the garden.
Mrs Price is a most hospitable hostess. Paul, her son in law, who lives next door and helps around the place, is a skilled bookbinder and may show you some of his exquisite works.
This is a unique place..I felt privileged to have the opportunity to stay here. I would always be happy to return if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sasha7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Plas Penucha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Penucha

Address: Plas Penucha Pen y Cefn Road, Caerwys CH7 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Caerwys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caerwys
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing