We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand piano country house wooden panelling lounge library
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Beautiful , charming building with lots of history . Great service from Nest who is very sweet and will make sure you have everything you need for your stay. Check out the big old grandfather clock!
Lovely fresh rooms and comfortable bed where you open your window to stunning grounds and a striking sunrise!
Great breakfast provided in the morning.
Post code takes you to a farm nearby so when it tells you to turn left right at the end , don't! Carry on straight for half a mile and you'll find it !

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucygroves15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We reached Plas Penucha after a long, hot 12 miles along the Dyke and were immediately offered tea and biscuits in front of a welcome fire in a beautiful old room. The bed was comfortable, the house was full of history, food was excellent and the lift back to the Path at Cefn Du was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisApril2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

At Plas Penucha you will have a sense of having stepped back in time, while enjoying comfortable modern amenities.
The two huge wings of the ground floor of the house feature arts and craft wooden panelling on the walls, lovely old welsh cabinetry and bay windows looking out into the beautiful gardens. The walls are hung with a range of interesting art works, including some tapestries done in the early 19 c by an ancestor of the current owner, and there is a vast library to access, with an emphasis on welsh and local history.
The accomodation is in comfortable spacious rooms most looking out onto the garden.
Mrs Price is a most hospitable hostess. Paul, her son in law, who lives next door and helps around the place, is a skilled bookbinder and may show you some of his exquisite works.
This is a unique place..I felt privileged to have the opportunity to stay here. I would always be happy to return if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Overlooking garden
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sasha7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed here for one night during our Offa's Dyke walk, could have stayed a lot longer. This is a beautiful house located in peaceful and wonderful surroundings. Mrs Price and Paul were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The service and care we received was exceptional, our room was a delight with an en suite, very clean and quiet. Not a sound to be heard apart from that made by God's creations. We enjoyed a delightful evening meal in the dining room followed by a relaxing time in the guest lounge where my wife spent time playing the grand piano. Breakfast in the morning was again wonderful. This place is a must if you are in this part of the world. For those doing the Offa's Dyke they are happy to pick you up from Bodfari and return you there the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We were looking for accommodations to support our wives in their TREC Welsh National competition at Bryn Sion and needed something nearby.

We used Google to search for hotels and nothing really appeared to be suitable until changing 'Hotel' for B&B yielded this gem.

Plas Penucha is run by Mrs. Price for whom nothing is too much trouble arranging breakfast to suit our early times out and waiting up until we finished at the competition on both evenings.

The room was well appointed with twin rooms and a shower and toilet with sink. The shower had plenty of power and is something I really relish.

There were other great touches such as hot water bottles and shoe cleaning kits for brown and black shoes as well as tea and coffee in the room.

There was no noise from outside and it was so peaceful that I could really relax.

The property is about 5 minutes drive out of Caerwys village which has the Piccadilly public house with an amazing looking menu suitable for vegetarians too - though we never had time to get there to try it out.

I would certainly recommend this as a perfect place to stay if you are holidaying in North Wales and want peace as well as a good place to base yourself for all the walks cycling and horse riding available nearby.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ceorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews