We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed here for one night during our Offa's Dyke walk, could have stayed a lot longer. This is a beautiful house located in peaceful and wonderful surroundings. Mrs Price and Paul were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The service and care we received was exceptional, our room was a delight with an en suite, very clean and quiet. Not a sound to be heard apart from that made by God's creations. We enjoyed a delightful evening meal in the dining room followed by a relaxing time in the guest lounge where my wife spent time playing the grand piano. Breakfast in the morning was again wonderful. This place is a must if you are in this part of the world. For those doing the Offa's Dyke they are happy to pick you up from Bodfari and return you there the following morning.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We were looking for accommodations to support our wives in their TREC Welsh National competition at Bryn Sion and needed something nearby.

We used Google to search for hotels and nothing really appeared to be suitable until changing 'Hotel' for B&B yielded this gem.

Plas Penucha is run by Mrs. Price for whom nothing is too much trouble arranging breakfast to suit our early times out and waiting up until we finished at the competition on both evenings.

The room was well appointed with twin rooms and a shower and toilet with sink. The shower had plenty of power and is something I really relish.

There were other great touches such as hot water bottles and shoe cleaning kits for brown and black shoes as well as tea and coffee in the room.

There was no noise from outside and it was so peaceful that I could really relax.

The property is about 5 minutes drive out of Caerwys village which has the Piccadilly public house with an amazing looking menu suitable for vegetarians too - though we never had time to get there to try it out.

I would certainly recommend this as a perfect place to stay if you are holidaying in North Wales and want peace as well as a good place to base yourself for all the walks cycling and horse riding available nearby.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ceorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

My wife and I booked into Plas Penucha for our 47th anniversary.
This 500 year + old manor house was set in beautiful countryside in the Vale of Clwydd. The house is pet friendly and has 4 ensuite rooms and lovely gardens. The owner Mrs Price was very welcoming and we felt immediately comfortable. We stayed two nights B&B and the breakfasts were very good in a beautiful dining room. The rates were very reasonable and we will definitely return sometime soon

Room tip: Our room overlooked the garden with a mountain view in the background. I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This is our second stay at this enchanting house located in perfect harmony with its beautiful surroundings. The house is steeped in history and everything is lovingly cared for. Staying at this splendid retreat is very magical. We especially enjoyed the fascinating selection of books in the living room library. The open fire was such a welcoming touch and the living room was a superb place to relax after a long journey. The fresh flowers were delightful, and we so enjoyed looking at the interesting paintings in the property. Our breakfasts were a real treat and Mrs Price could not have been more welcoming. If you want a break from the modern world then this is the place to stay!

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vizetelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Picked up by Paul from Offas Dyke and taken to the BandB Plas Penucha. Very warm welcome, lovely warm, snug, cosy bedroom. Fire lite and tea in the Library. Excellent food and wine at the Picadilly Inn for the evening meal and a lovely breakfast. Fabulous place and great place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews