We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible place to rest and RUDE MANAGER!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
aannie11
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible place to rest and RUDE MANAGER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My first night was a nigh mare. I head the loud train ALL night almost every hour. I also did not get a wake up call as I requested and over slept. I did change rooms and could not hear the train but the AC was broke and sounded like a car running and ticking! After 2 days of pure exhaustion from no sleep, I took 4 hours naps after my work as I was on pure breakdown and miserable. I did video tape the train issue and the ac issue and went to speak to the manager.
His name was MATT and I spoke to him and told him I had never ever complained since I have worked as a travel nurse but this was the worst ever. Matt was very rude as told me " you should have seen the train tracks when you came in" EXCUSE ME? I DID NOT SEE THEM. He said the ac sounded like a regular ac unit and I told him not in my home! WHAT A WASTE OFMY TIME AND MY VISIT WAS PURE MISERY! Matt told me " if you are so unhappy maybe you should go somewhere else. AND he said maybe in the future I should stay somewhere else and it would be best for the HOTEL...DEAR GOD..A RUDE MAN. I do plan on filing a formal complaint with BBB and corporate. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE>

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train and not under the management of a man named MATT! And make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aannie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    193
    119
    42
    23
See reviews for
185
156
45
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm not a particularly hard sleeper, and I never heard any trains, though I did notice the ear plugs on the nightstand and thought that was odd. Like most Hampton Inns, the accommodations were comfortable and clean but nothing special. I didn't feel that the service here was particularly great. No one was rude, but they didn't go above and beyond either. The "gym" had 1 elliptical-type machine, 1 kind of scary treadmill, and 1 recumbent bike. I'm 5'3" and thought I might hit my head on the ceiling while I was on the treadmill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleverkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I awoke 6 times during the night due to the train whistles.
I wish I would have noticed the very nice ear plugs on the nightstand the night before.
All was redeemed at breakfast however, when they provided a 'brown bag' breakfast to go!
A nice touch for the busy traveller in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRHofOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This Hampton has easy access to all the major freeways and close to several restaurants - especially across the street next to the Mercedes dealership. This does not have a laundry or one nearby it does however have a great breakfast with the best donuts in the world from Gibson's donuts every morning. If you have the choice select a room away from the front of the hotel as the street noise can be loud at night.

Room Tip: Away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were prewarned about the noise from the trains so we took that in our stride. To be honest it was'nt that much of a problem for us,we just rolled over and went back to sleep. We were on vacation so we could afford to lie in. Otherwise everything was perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
2.3 km away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.5 km away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
6.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#22 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,575 - ₹ 12,284
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar is conveniently located in the heart of Memphis on Poplar Avenue - the one road that leads to all the main districts of Memphis, from the prestigious streets of Germantown, to eclectic Midtown and the bustling Downtown. Visit musical attractions such as Graceland and Beale Street. Take the kids to see the pandas at Memphis Zoo or catch an IMAX movie at the Pink Place Museum. If you're here for business you will find several local offices and corporations in the locale of our hotel including Bank of America and Coca Cola. The University of Memphis is just three miles from the hotel offering comfortable and convenient accommodation for visitors and students to the institution. Combining value with comfort the Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar provides everything you expect and those extra touches you might not. Wake up to a Hampton's free hot breakfast each morning or if you're in a rush just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. Take advantage of great amenities for relaxation and work including a 468 sq. Ft. Meeting room, a business center, outdoor pool, and free fitness center. We guarantee a clean and comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Keep in touch with free high-speed internet access and a handy lap desk. Catch your favorite show on the 32-inch flat screen TV and have a great night's sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing