We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Coffee & Cold Elevators!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #18 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hot Coffee & Cold Elevators!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at the Hampton on Poplar and on the whole, found it a fair place to stay in Memphis. We chose the Hampton due to it's location. The room was of average size, I like the little desk area. Bathroom was nice with lots of towels. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. For some reason - the elevators were very cold. But the coffee was hot - I do love it that they have hot coffee and tea available 24 hours. Very convenient to be able to grab some coffee or tea at any time. On the whole - I would stay at the Hampton on Poplar again - didn't have breakfast there but it looked like it would be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    201
    119
    42
    25
See reviews for
197
164
47
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Decided to try this hotel to save some money on my business trip. I guess in the end, you get what you pay for.

Firstly, the service at the hotel is well below the standards I experience at other hotels like this. I was greeted at check in by an employee who was chewing a mouthful of food. So much so, I could hardly understand him till he swallowed.

The rooms were clean, but were small and very outdated. The worst part of my stay was my discovery of the rust water found while waiting for my shower to warm up. This after I had drank a cup of coffee made from the same...... Yuck!

Think there are plenty of other choices in the area at similar price points.. Will looks somewhere else next time I'm here..........

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Small rooms. Short of outlets. Small bathroom.
Comes with complimentary ear plugs. Enough said?
trains come by often and loudly throughout the night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wlonadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This Hampton has a free full breakfast, with make your own waffles, hot oatmeal, eggs, sausage, juice, coffee, and much more. Our family gathered in the lobby area in the evening where there were plenty of chairs and tables. We chose the location because it is across the street from Corky's BarBQue and close to all our destinations, but you can hear the train all night long. Beds are comfortable. Supposedly new decor, but our room was run down and very sparse with no place to put anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boards_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I went to Memphis for a church conference and I stayed at this hotel that we nearby. It was really pleasant and comfortable. The decor was new and my room was clean. Anytime I asked the front desk for a recommendation for a nearby place to eat, they always had some good suggestions. There are 2 really great BBQ places kitty corner from the Hampton. I went walking in the neighborhood (behind the hotel) cause I need some excercise and it was really lovely. Poplar street is really great cause there all types of stores there. Great location. I honestly don't have anything negative to say. All around this Hampton was very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
2.4 km away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.5 km away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
903 reviews
6.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#22 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,356 - ₹ 12,890
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar is conveniently located in the heart of Memphis on Poplar Avenue - the one road that leads to all the main districts of Memphis, from the prestigious streets of Germantown, to eclectic Midtown and the bustling Downtown. Visit musical attractions such as Graceland and Beale Street. Take the kids to see the pandas at Memphis Zoo or catch an IMAX movie at the Pink Place Museum. If you're here for business you will find several local offices and corporations in the locale of our hotel including Bank of America and Coca Cola. The University of Memphis is just three miles from the hotel offering comfortable and convenient accommodation for visitors and students to the institution. Combining value with comfort the Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar provides everything you expect and those extra touches you might not. Wake up to a Hampton's free hot breakfast each morning or if you're in a rush just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. Take advantage of great amenities for relaxation and work including a 468 sq. Ft. Meeting room, a business center, outdoor pool, and free fitness center. We guarantee a clean and comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Keep in touch with free high-speed internet access and a handy lap desk. Catch your favorite show on the 32-inch flat screen TV and have a great night's sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing