We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibson's Donuts

Gibson's Donuts
Ranked #1 of 41 Dessert in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Downs, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We drove out of our way to go here for breakfast based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was worth it! The donuts were oh-so-yummy and the staff was fantastic. We even got a bag of donuts holes on the house. If you like donuts, don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    103
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great fresh donuts. Starting at 11:00 PM every night, you can get 6 (day-old) donuts for $1.25! Get there on the hour because the good ones are gone in 20 minutes.

Helpful?
2 Thank mrmatt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Made my mouth happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The custard-filled doughnut here makes my short list of best doughnuts ever. Ever! The crullers were also very good, as were the caramel apple doughnuts. Very fresh and flavorful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Donuts that even your mother-in-law would love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

These Donuts are amazing! In the early 80's, I fell in love with a donut shop called Pilgrim's in Belmont, CA. I moved away, and haven't found a donut I could love until Gibsons Donuts! They taste exactly as I remember donuts tasting when I was a child. The New Orleans donut was the favorite of my husband, but I liked the Old Fashioned Choclate the best! We bought a dozen donuts and our family ate and loved them ALL! I wished we lived in Memphis so we could eat these all the time! Love these donuts!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spercle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Located in East Memphis and open 24 hours a day, the service was great and the donuts were delicious. A great late night snack or early morning breakfast stop!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gibson's Donuts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing