We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Ranked #18 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

stayed here during I.B.C. week on Beale St.Very nice,quiet, clean.Staff most friendly and helpful.Trolley to downtown block away,or if your up to it can walk,only 2 miles.Excellant breakfast.Will definetly stay again,next time in Memphis

Room Tip: all rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    147
    52
    22
    14
See reviews for
75
152
23
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent new place.good value. Good meal at Cafe Fuel. Seems convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Our stay at this hotel was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was good. Although not in the most scenic part of town it is a great value for the money. We felt safe and secure. It is close downtown without the high prices, and it is also close to the hospitals which was the reason for our stay. We checked out a few of the other hotels in the area before we booked a room and this was the best price. We also mentioned that we had a family member in the hospital nearby and they gave us a discount. We needed to stay an additional night so we called the hotel from the hospital they took care of it no problem. Also this nights stay was at the discounted price. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The GenX hotel has great service, great breakfast and great housekeeping staff. Although far walking distance from Beale st and downtown, taxis are cheap. Go with Arrow Cab. Feels like home no matter where you are traveling from.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epurcell203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

These reviews about great safety and fantastic service are total fakes. This place ruined my birthday. I work in the hotel business and ive never stayed in such a place. The location is in the bad part of Memphis. Random people trudge through the parkung lot late at night. Feels unsafe. Upon arrival we had a reservation saved under and paid with oyr best wester points. The guy at the frint desk disnt even know.how to check me in using points. He charged it to our credut card!! We head to beale st and return around for am. We go to our room which was nice and was clean. We layed down and were woken up to the loudest roaring sound ive ever heard. It went on pretty much ever twenty min. We checked it out and there was a gap which had been stuffed with newspaper between the wall and the window. The wind was blowing so hard that it was causing the heating unit to rattle and roar. Its 4am...we dont wanna move. Were gonna be checking out soon. We endure it. When we go to beakfast the manager at the front desk makes a comment abouy us coming down last min...we had 35 min. She told us that the pancake batter ran out and she really didnt want to make more if we were going to be the only ones to eat it. So we had muffins instead ..yay. Upon check out i mebtioned the horrid sound...the manager acted like we were lying..even tho it was obvious someone had attempted to fix it. She told us we were just hearing the trolly. We assured her that wasnt it and we were just telling her because it needed to be fixed. After that we tried to get her to fix the credit card issue and may with the points...but not even she knew how. I told her how to do it because the system at my hotel was the exact same one...she didnt listen and called the tech support...they told her what i told her. So we finally got it right. We get home and they had deducted twice the amount of points they were supposed to....such a horrible place..complete idiots. Rooms are beautiful but honestly i would have rather had a worse room and better security and service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quackkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.7 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
2.9 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,207 - ₹ 11,595
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing