We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fried chicken and sides ”

UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken
Ranked #6 of 38 Quick Bites in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

This is a local gem of an eatery. Specializes in fried chicken. It comes out covered in either a mild or a hot sauce and both are great. I tend to go to the mild. It’s still got some heat to it but it is excellent. The chicken is perfectly fried and then basted in the sauce and as it drips off the chicken it continues to soak in. Very good stuff.

I recommend the onion rings and the carrots as a side. Both are divine.

The owner is actively in there greeting folks and taking photos.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 616MattC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2018

if you are in the area stop on in it is def worth it. the chicken is really good the people that work there are super nice

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank segrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

I had the Spicy chicken wings, corn bread and fried Okra, really tasty . Good price and easy parking

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jives11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Alot of places claim to have world famous chicken. Lous has the best chicken wings i have ever tasted. The best part is it comes with good old fashioned Koolaid. Yes its been on tv on food network, foods the bomb. The interior does appear to need some updates but its the culture of the place that still makes it great. Look past the interior and get ur fingers soaked in that special hot sauce. It really is finger licking good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tenakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

The sweet and spicy strips were Amazing! My husband had the regular fried chicken. He said it was tender and juicy but not traditionally breaded. I was excited to try the carrots that are so famous but I didn't love them. Flavor was good but at the end of the day, it's still a carrot. The burger and fries were also a hot with my daughter. I would definitely go back for the strips.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing