We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis
Ranked #42 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgeland, Ms
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is literally across the street from the University of Memphis. All rooms open to the inside so the safety factor is huge. All rooms are suites and are clean and quiet. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet.
My wife and I always stay here when in Memphis and have nothing but great things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine with no noisy spots we have ever encountered
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippsdad1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    67
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
59
19
12
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Ms
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Everything was great. Our room was very clean and everyone was very nice even with a very late check in. We got great service and had lots of towels and a very clean bathroom..i loved that it was a suit with two rooms and tvs so the kids and grown ups got to watch . I'd stay there again. We are military family and we were thanked for our service. Its very kind.

Room Tip: we were on the forth floor and the kids loved the ride up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Everything was GREAT from the staff to the food love it all.I will stay here everytimeI am in Memphis. The Young lady Ashley that checked me in was very friendly and had great customer service. Shenna checked me out and she was as lovely as Ashlye. My bed was soft as a cloud and the food was great.My watiress Verronica for breakfast was caring she asked me was i ok often which I loved about the service. I am coming back to Memphis in July foa my FAMILY REUNION and i will make sure i tell my family about the Memphis State Holiday Inn. Thank You for your great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacket A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very well maintained. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was no complimentary breakfast. Bed was very comfortable. Even though all rooms face the atrium, they are very quiet.

Room Tip: All suites so all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The place was a bit upscale for a Holiday Inn so it was a pleasant surprise but the less than average service proved it was a Holiday Inn. My key card didn't work in the room that was provided and I was told my housekeeping to just call her when I wanted to enter my room. At 8pm there were no maintenance person available to fix the lock. After an hour the front desk decided to move me to another room which didn't have clean towels and a dirty toilet. She acted like I was an inconvenience to her evening and would barely look at me when I spoke to her. I asked for a conditioner since prior to this I was at the Holiday Inn in DT Memphis, turns out only DT hotels get conditioner. The answer to the conditioner was "we don't provide that service". The DT Memphis Holiday Inn wasn't as nice as this one but the staff was pleasant, they bent over backwards to ensure my stay was pleasant. Too bad the Univ of Memphis location thinks its too good to provide service.

Room Tip: Don't bother, they don't really care about service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is through guest comments that we are able to learn from our mistakes. This situation is truely not indicitive of the service we are capable of providing. I have met with the Housekeeping, Maintanence and Front Desk staff to address these concerns in an effort to avoid a similar situation. Although it is not a requirement of the brand, we have elected to provide conditioner to our guests going forward. The lock situation required a part be overnighted and it was fixed the next day after the guest departed.

Our entire staff regrets the situation and hopes you will not allow this isolated incident to tarnish your image of our hotel.

We hope to see you when you are in Memphis!

Debbie Cowgill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
7.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#19 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
6.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
6.8 km away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#39 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis

Property: Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis
Address: 3700 Central Avenue, Memphis, TN 38111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,687 - ₹ 12,305
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel University of Memphis is an all-suite hotel centrally located in the heart of Memphis and easily accessible to downtown, the airport, and shopping. This hotel is a five-time TorchBearer Winner and features a beautifully decorated atrium, Medallion Restaurant, Central Grill, Medallion Lounge, fitness center, specialty gift shop and 14,000 square feet of meeting space! Adjacent to the University of Memphis Fogelman Executive Conference Center with another 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Due to the high quality of our bedding and furniture, pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Univ Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing