We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Van Driver”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great location near Beale Street. Nice room and good view of the city from the room. Van driver Trena T was excellent. She was very pleasant and had really good advise as to where to go and what to see. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your comments! I will be sure to let Trena know how much you appreciated her personality and her great recommendations! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis and that you got to experience Memphis hospitality! I hope you get a chance to come back and visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    427
    271
    108
    50
See reviews for
199
448
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here because of its location 21st / 24th April.
looking a bit dated and shabby catering for Music city bus trips in the main.
Asked for a room as far away from lift as possible on as high as floor as possible. Was given a room close to lifts which proved to be noisy with revellers returning to rooms past us at all hours. Next to the door was ice machine which due to its age was extremely noisy and could be heard in room preventing sound sleep.
Rooms very small and could do with re-arranging to make better use of space
Good breakfast but they employ a confusing voucher system for payment and management should look at this to make the system more efficient. Some of the staff serving breakfast seemed to have an indifferent attitude
Probably wouldnt stay there again as there are other affordable options nearby that didn't look as jaded.

Room Tip: Probably a room at the rear on as high as floor as possible and as far away from the lifts and ice m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nodnyl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request for a room away from the elevators and ice machine. We value your feedback, and I have passed along your comments regarding the breakfast voucher process and restaurant staff to our general manager and our restaurant manager, so these issues will be addressed. I hope you consider us for future accommodations in Memphis. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was an older style hotel in a fantastic location. A cross the road is the Peabody. Where they take the ducks from the fountain up the lift to the penthouse. Get there early as there is a crowd waiting to see it. The rooms are large but looking old. Not far Beal Street.

Room Tip: Go and see the ducks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your comments! We appreciate you staying with us at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and location! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the Memphis Marathon and it was in a great place. It was right int he heart of the city with easy walking distance to everything. We were right near Beale St. along with other attractions. Be ready for the place to be a little noisy. We had a corner room and the sounds of the streets were very loud. The service however was fantastic and the room was fine. They were very gracious to us and go us into our room quickly when we arrived at 2 am because of late flights. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need quiet get a room on the back side. They actually put ear plugs in the room because of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis during the Memphis Marathon. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about the great service you received and our excellent hotel accommodations! I'm so happy we could check you into your room after a long day of traveling! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Room was large (corner room) but was starting to look tired.

Staff is friendly but reception desk gave priority to answering phone over helping guests.

Some things went wonky: I pressed button vending machine for Diet Coke and got Ginger Ale (or something else non-coke and non-diet) instead. (Front desk staff did return my money.) And one elevator started making sudden stops and then strange up and down motions - I thought I was going to be stuck - but it eventuially opened at lobby level.

Buffet breakfast is OK - typical buffer fare and quality - but restaurant staff was great.

Hotel in central Memphis, in safe though quiet area, within walking distance of Beale Street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis, and we appreciate you taking the time to comment about your experience. The feedback you provided will be shared with our staff so we can continue to better service our guests and with our southern hospitality! Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
861 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,693 - ₹ 18,809
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing