We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and nice room”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Location is 2 blocks from riverfront and 2 blocks from Beale St (across the street from the Peabody). Its far enough from the action, so its not too noisy, but close enough to walk. The room was clean and decent size, nothing fancy, but perfectly acceptable. Staff was friendly and accomodating. No free breakfast, but they have coffee and donut holes in the morning and lemonade and cookies in the afternoon (in the lobby). The only downsize was getting an elevator to/from the basement parking garage - took forever. Good restaurants all around - try the Cockadoo for breakfast and Hueys was good for a late night meal. Not sure i would go to memphis again, once is probably enough, but I would definitely recommend this hotel, based on location and price.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor overlooking the Peabody - very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgrl922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your experience and the service you received at our hotel while visiting Memphis. Our location is convenient to Beale Street, FedEx Forum - home of the Grizzlies NBA Team, the Rock and Soul Museum and many other attractions! We invite you to come back and stay with our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    411
    258
    104
    47
See reviews for
187
422
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
973 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent two nights here. The hotel is just two blocks from Beale Street, so it's just a short walk. We had a nice room on the 11th floor - the bathroom roof showes some signes of needing renovation, but except that the room is perfectly OK. The air condition worked well and didn't make too much noise. The fitness room on the 4th floor was small but well equipped, and the outdoor pool is nice when it's warm. The parking was $12 which is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. I hope you are able to come back to visit soon and enjoy this wonderful weather at our outdoor terrace pool! We do appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you next time!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great! Did not have any problem with night noise, although, the city was tearing up the intersection of Union and 2nd during the day. As mentioned in other posts, the beds are very comfy and the bathrooms are small. Had a couple of service issues: asked for a wake up call which never was made, luckily I was up anyway. Our room keys stopped working mid way through our stay which made it a pain to get in to the parking garage. We did not know the key was the culprit (thought it was the reader in the garage) so we got caught in the stairwell and could not access our floor. Maid service was very good though and rooms were clean. All in all with the minor glitches a very economical hotel with a great location.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bhawks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We are so excited that you enjoyed your time here. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your wake up call. We appreciate your comments and will work with our hotel staff on being more efficient. We would love for you to stay with us again on your next visit to Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovetovacat
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We used our points for a night stay so we could check out Beale Street. The hotel was less than a 5 minute walk to Beale Street. The room was great - the bed comfy. The bathroom was small but it was doable. We did hear some noise from the street but hay it was a Saturday night and everyone was having a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetovacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We are thrilled you were able to use your PC points to stay with us to check out Beale Street and the downtown area. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Priority Platinum receives a $20/day breakfast coupon. This perquisite is great when travelling as a couple because two can easily for this price. The location is across the street from the Peabody which puts you in the heart of Memphis downtown night-life. They have self-parking for $12/day. Coffee and doughnut holes are put out for free in the morning. All considered, a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZephyrTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear guest,

So glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be a great value! Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and thank you for taking them time to comment on your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,200 - ₹ 18,335
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing