We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great front desk staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very impressed with the friendliest of the staff. I was late to the FedEx Forum due to an error on our tour Asst not sending a runner and the sweetest lady at the bell captain stand(I forgot your name) ran me right over down the tunnel. Thank you. My room was wonderful. My only complaint was no one answered the room service #. I finally gave up and ordered from one of the many restaurants in the area and ran and picked it up.
I will by all means stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 10 March 2012
HI there and thank you for your comments, especially the one about our Bell Staff helping you get to your destination. Treena is a joy to be around and always looking to make our guest's stay more enjoyable.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with our room service. Answering the phone is unacceptable and we will be sure to address this with the staff there. Afterall, you were not able to sample the delicious meals we have to offer, but go elsewhere for you food. We are here to make sure your stay is enjoyable in ALL areas of the hotel.

Please come back to see us again and give our restaurant/room service another try.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    411
    258
    104
    48
See reviews for
188
422
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is our 2nd or 3rd year to stay at this property during the Mid-South Gin show. I knew exactly what to expect from the room (average at best) but the staff and location are wonderful. Right across the street from the Peabody and only a short walk from the convention hall and Beale Street, this is one of the best locations for the money. The staff is top notch!! Elisa at the front desk is so friendly and willing to help in any way! Will probably book again for next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

We are thrilled to be a part of the Gin Show each and every year and more thrilled to have you as a repeat guest! Im so glad to hear you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Elisa; we are so glad she joined our staff a few months ago.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in 2013!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Excellent location, great food. Very helpful staff especially the manager.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHD5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for your recent comments.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here with my wife 16 to 18 Feb 2012. Great location just round the corner from Beale Street.I couldnt fault the hotel. We didnt eat there but every bar in Beale Street serves food. If you want a great steak ask for the Butchers Shop. 2H ueys2 just opposite good for burgers etc. This area is all about music and drinking. Have a good time.

Room Tip: Always check aircon is working properly before you inpack and settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkegnessBiggerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is the best and both Huey's and The Butcher Shop are two of the finest restaurants in the downtown area. Too bad you werent able to visit the Russwood Park Sports Bar and Grill inside the Holiday Inn; they serve great burgers too. I especially like your room tip: It is a great idea to check things out before you unpack as we are happy to move your room if it doesnt meet your expectations.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Memphis.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

At first I thought the hotel would be so much more than it was. The lobby is sleek and the service helpful. The location was excellent; right next to Beale Street. But the rooms were a bit dirty with stains on the carpet and the bathroom had some mildew. The walls were paper thin and a bunch of kids were running up and down the halls; I had to call security twice to get them to shut up. The beds were comfy but in the morning I had to fight for the free breakfest that came with my package. The elevators were weird and creaky. Overall I wouldn't reccomend this hotel and I think it needs the renovation that the rest of the chain got.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbadger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

Im sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We do offer a great location and are glad you were able to enjoy that part of your stay.

Our property is a bit older than some, but we maintain a high level of cleanliness and overall guest satisfaction.

We do hope you will change your mind and recommend our hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,777 - ₹ 17,046
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing