We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I am very happy to report that we enjoyed this hotel! The front staff (I cant remember her name) that worked 2nd shift was AWESOME! All of the staff was great and I would go back in a heartbeat! The location is in the business district but I dont mind. I dont like to stay right down town.

Room Tip: Go and eat at the Germantown Commissary! It is very small so go at off hours or you will wait hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki55408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of January. Booked the room through Priceline and was worried once I had looked up reviews on different sites, but decided to give it a try anyway and am glad we did. The hotel was very nice, no complaints. Room and grounds were clean, staff was friendly and helpful, very nice lobby/lounge area. The hotel was right off the freeway and just a short drive from downtown and the airport.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank OhioJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Basically this hotel makes its money of a local railroad company. They have train engineers come in during the middle of the night, and they sleep on the third floor which is off limits to everyone else.

Otherwise the place it pretty bare.

It's clean, seems relatively safe, and the staff is nice enough. But there's no real dining options. The manager does a Sam's run on the weekend and stocks the place with Cup of Noodles, and frozen burgers, etc that you can purchase for inflated prices. Breakfast buffet is offered in the morning, but I think it's part of the railroad deal. Everytime I went in there, it was packed with the railroad workers laughing and talking shop. No one else really.

I found certain staff to be wonderfully helpful others not so much.

I was told I couldn't have a kind size bed because I booked on priceline. Even though the hotel was empty on the 2nd floor when I got there.

I wouldn't hesitate staying again. Clean, nice staff, and great price. But I totally wouldn't call it a 3 star hotel. More like 2 to 2.5. I felt like an add on to the railroad workers home, not a guest at a Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Really not a bad deal for a hotel. I bid 65 at priceline and stayed for 2 nights, total cost after taxes, etc was about 170. Looks like the renovations are mostly done. My room was great, very big. King bed, sofa, desk, new tv, plenty of lighting, clean, but no micro/fridge. AC and cable worked well. Staff was friendly and place was pretty good. Awesome fitness center, compared to other places. Full dumbbell rack from 5lbs to 50lbs, 2 elipticals, 2 treadmills, 1 bike, 1 bench, tvs on all cardio equipment. Free parking as well, and real good breakfast.

Onto the not so good...

Internet was quite possibly slower than dial up, actually, much slower. It is a wired in-room ethernet connection, and it is plain bad. They say there is a ethostream wireless available but there is none. Very frustrating when trying to work. Location is not the best. Getting something to eat that isn't fast food, hot wings, or chinese is a 5+ mile drive. There were also several unsavory characters roaming the parking lot and smoking weed while sitting in cars at all hours of the night. I walked to the gas station across the street to get a gatorade around 10pm and the door was locked. You have to use a very small "night window" to purchase anything inside, and its basically a 6" wide x 2" deep drawer that the clerk slides out while she looks at you like you're mentally challenged. So if it's not a pack of cigarrettes your buying its not fitting in the drawer and you're out of luck. Had to drive to CVS a mile down the road.

Breakfast is not free, which was a surprise. Its a very small hot buffet and I walked in to an unattended room and began helping myself, and after about 10 minutes a very chipper lady came in and asked me how everything was. Shortly after she dropped a bill on my table. Also, my room was not cleaned after my first night, completely untouched. That was strange.

Otherwise, it was a pretty pleasant stay. It's probably an average deal considering the surrounding neighborhood. Think twice if you are a business traveler just because the internet is so bad, even in the business center. Otherwise, not a bad stay. Good amenities. Big fan of the fitness center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Staff great, friendly helpful... Hotel just renovated. (still working on it) Priceline deal @ $76 for the one night stay. Hotel did have a contl. breakfast but, was not included in the priceline price... What!! That was a slite sting to our morning breakfast. Also railroad employee's coming & going ... In & out of the lobby(they have the whole third floor reserved for them) But all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JairBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Memphis
5.0 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
4.3 km away
Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue
8.0 km away
Hyatt Place Germantown
Hyatt Place Germantown
#1 of 9 in Germantown
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#40 of 138 in Memphis
198 reviews
5.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway

Address: 3076 Kirby Pkwy, Memphis, TN 38115-7718
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Memphis
#15 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: ₹ 7,229 - ₹ 11,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Courtyard
Memphis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing