We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I ever stayed in”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #109 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel and the rooms smelled. The sheets were stained. Walls and carpets were dirty. Do not believe the positive reviews. Sleeping on the floor at the airport (our other option when our plane was diverted to Memphis) would have been better.

Room Tip: The only way to choose a good room is to stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam336336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

The stay was very relaxing and we will come back when we return to memphis. The staff is very professional and friendly. I strongly recommend this location! Very pleasant and enjoyed the delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It was very good stay in this Econolodge.friendly staff good service,, clean room and bathroom. I enjoyed brackfast in the morning..comfortable bed. Good location on hwy 78 and american way..I stay in this econo every week

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Toilet did not flush properly, never received service.
Called front desk 3 times no answer.
Went to front desk, reported my dissatisfaction, told them I did not want to be disturbed.
Put do not disturb sign on door.
Awoken by phone call 15 minutes later.
ink cracked.
No way to take a bath.
Breakfast was terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, it is not even passable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My mother, younger brother and I stayed at this hotel Memorial Day weekend and well....I should have made the reservations instead of waiting on my mother. I try to NEVER stay at an Econo Lodge, especially having once worked at one, and the first 2 nights I honestly was surprised. Surprised to find an empty shampoo bottle in the shower and the plate missing from the microwave and those were the only 2 complaints but the 2rd night changed it all!!! We had to check out and back in due to a family emergency and the rooms were gross and outdated! I guess one side of the hotel is decent. I told the young lady at the desk that the coffee was out and her response was that breakfast is over at 9....IT WAS ONLY 8:30!!! On the 3rd night my rooms remote wasn't working and that took over an hour before they fixed it and my mother's room didn't have a remote and that took right at an hour to get one!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
11.9 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 138 in Memphis
3,357 reviews
11.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
7.3 km away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
9.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
12.1 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#12 of 138 in Memphis
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3419 American Way, Memphis, TN 38118-1663 (Formerly Garden Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: ₹ 3,191 - ₹ 3,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing