We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class”
other travellers have booked this property
Kildrochet House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kildrochet House
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Kildrochet House
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Garden
Kildrochet Cottage
Kildrochet House
Courtyard
Courtyard
Courtyard
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Bryan B
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were looking for a comfortable "bolt-hole" for a few days rest. What a find Kildrochet Cottage was. Great location, really comfortable and high quality place to stay.
Would recommend this to anybody looking for a peaceful place with great facilities.
Would stay here again without a moments hesitation and have already recommended to family members.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious on 3 levels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill M
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An absolute oasis of calm in the Southern Scotland area. Ideal for visiting places such as Portpatrick, Mull of Galloway, Logan Botanical Gardens and so much more besides. You can even cross to Ireland using the Ferry at Stranraer.
The cottage is beautifully laid out, extremely well equipped and the hosts Philip and Lesley attend to every little detail that the weary traveller may require! Exceptionally well equipped Kitchen, Bathroom and Entertainment section (plenty of books, DVD's etc) all combined to make this one of the finest holiday rentals we have ever experienced.
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful Georgian Mansion house with us!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space in the Cottage
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
597greg
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found Kildrochet to be beautifully presented and well equipped, backed up by a very welcoming proprietor. It is set in a lovely garden in a great part of the world, we'll be returning to explore further.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcol60
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful ”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Came across this wee cottage on trip adviser and so glad we did, travelled down to visit my sister with my two kids and stayed at this cottage there is everything you need for a perfect holiday beautiful countryside and plenty to do and Philip the owner was fantastic as we booked at such short notice can't fault the place and will certainly be going back

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An Unusual Cottage”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The accommodation is in what used to be the servants quarters of country house. It comprises a semi-basement kitchen, a living-room upstairs from thence, and a bed-room on a mezzanine above.
Heating is by night storage radiators. This is an old, and listed building. Insulation against inclement weather is limited. In a really cold weather, you may need to wear warm clothing.
Caveats aside, the accommodation is well presented, and very clean. Free WIFI is available, as is satellite TV. The countryside around is most pleasant, and if you go to port patrick, you can see Belfast Bay! There is a ferry service to Belfast, and Larne, but the prices for the service are ridiculous. The house grounds are pleasant to walk around, but our weather was not good, so we did not see the place in its best light.
Would we go back?
This is not a judgement upon the accommodation, rather it is upon the area. I am a coeliac. I need gluten free food. This are is not the best equipped to meet my needs.
There is a gluten-free chip shop in Stranraer, but I have to say, its products are not a near match to our favourite chip shop in Winterbourne.
We did enjoy our stay in the area, but I cannot see us returning. This is not a judgement of the accommodation.

Should anyone want to go to the area, then, yes, this is a good place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: So Quiet, And Dark Sky at night.
Liked least: The Kitchen plumbing is below ground level. This has a potential for slow draining.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.