We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish and spacious holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Garden
KILDROCHET COTTAGE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise D
Hawick, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish and spacious holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A large and spacious cottage (attached the main house) which was full of stylish pieces of furniture and quirky, individual features. The cottage is on three floors with a few steps separating the kitchen and diner on the ground floor, to the sitting area on first followed by a few to the large bedroom and bathroom. Lovely big windows let in plenty of light and all household bits and bobs are provided. There's also a private sitting area and wi-fi. Brilliant property and would definitely recommend a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the property and stylish features.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen M
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Getaway”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Having visited this area countless times, we were looking for a cottage in a nice location with easy access to various places of interest and in Kildrochet Cottage we found an absolute gem.
On arrival after a long journey the provisions provided were plentiful and a really thoughtful touch, as were the fresh flowers in every room.
The accommodation is spacious, delightfully furnished and extremely comfortable. We particularly loved the window seat in the lounge and the light airy bedroom, which has an Indian feel to it.
The kitchen/diner is roomy and is equipped with everything you could possibly need.
On the next level up the lounge is cosy with a plentiful supply of books/dvds if you can tear yourself away from the view of the beautiful garden!!!
Next level is the bedroom which has a nice large comfortable bed with crisp white bed linen.
The adjoining bathroom has lovely touches such as gorgeous soap/hand lotion and tea lights to create a relaxing atmosphere.
The scented candles provided were also very much appreciated.
We really enjoyed being freely able to stroll around the garden and woods surrounding the house whenever we wanted.
To sum up, we had a fantastic, relaxing break and found Philip & Lesley to be very friendly and welcoming, even to the point of them arranging glorious weather for our stay - at no extra cost!
We would definitely recommend the cottage, both for comfort and location, to anyone wishing to visit this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything!!!
Liked least: No stand up shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2013
Thanks Mo and Mike, much appreciated. You're the second person to wish for a stand-up shower so we will look into that!

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JazzLyz
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to stay in the North Rhins area”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I came here for a short break to celebrate our anniversary and brought our dog.

The holiday cottage was absolutely beautiful and Philip was very friendly and helpful - able to supply us with all the information we needed during our stay!

The property was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished with pieces from India - look out too for Philip's excellent photography hanging on the walls. The kitchen/dining area is huge with loads of storage space and room to work. The living area is spacious and warm with a lovely window seat which looks out over the beautiful house gardens, which are also immaculate. The sofa is also very comfy and there is a wide range of DVDs for guests to enjoy. The bedroom is equally luxurious, the bed is comfy and big. The bathroom is modern and the water gets hot really quickly. My only gripe would be that the bath only had a shower attached to the taps rather than an independent shower with a curtain so one could stand up and shower - but that is only a tiny thing.

The cottage features endless little touches that just make a holiday rental even more special - fresh flowers, nice soap and tea and coffee readily provided spring to mind.

The cottage is in a good location being less than ten minutes from Stranraer with its supermarkets and restaurants, and about fifteen minutes to the quaint and picturesque town of Portpatrick. If you have a dog there is much excellent dog walking to be found along the coasts!

Would definitely stay here again, a perfect romantic getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxury accommodation for a good value price
Liked least: Nothing - the dog was a bit scared of the cows in the field next door though!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2013
Thanks Lyz, much appreciated.
Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirsty G
Nether Wasdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This wing of Kildrochet House stands in its own grounds which we wondered around every evening with our dog and a glass of wine. The cottage itself is very thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with fantastic attention to detail and the extra little touches, like gorgeous bubble bath and fresh flowers really make it stand out from its competitors. Lesley and Philip are very welcoming and I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2013
Thanks for the positive review Kirsty. Do come again when you're visiting the area. You just missed the weather - it's gorgeous here now!
Take care.
Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing