We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location warm and homely cottage”

Review of North Pier

Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Only a two minute walk from the lively harbour Impeccably furnished for your comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Only a two minute walk from the lively harbour
Impeccably furnished for your comfort
Fully equipped kitchen looking onto the harbour
Family room with 1 king size bed and 1 single bed
Bright and airy double bedroom looking onto the garden
Lounge with comfortable seating and a 37' LCD TV and DVD
Open plan dining room with everything you need for an evening meal at home
Master bedroom with en suite shower room
Twin bedroom looking onto the garden
Bright and spacious open plan lounge
En suite shower room to the master bedroom
Family bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower
Private back garden perfect for al fresco dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael O
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location warm and homely cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for my wife's 50th along with 7 others. The Cottage is located just a short walk from all the hotels and pubs in a quiet area next to the putting green. The cottage has a lovely balcony round the side and front and we were lucky with the weather and able to sit out. It would be a real gem on a summers day. Lovely and cosy with everything you need to enjoy your stay very clean with fresh towels and comfy beds. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it too friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy b
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great accommodation, great central position with views of the sea,good standard of furnishings , masses of good quality towels and a well equipped kitchen. We went in February, still a little chilly, but not at North Pier , it's a lovely warm house.
We will definitely revisit !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: no wi-fi for the children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilbel
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic location, light and spacious.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved our stay at North Pier. The location was great with plenty of parking. The kids had lots of room to scoot and ride their bikes in the driveway.

I would highly recommend this for a family holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollyjane...
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home, wished we could've stayed longer”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I come from Portpatrick originally and although return each year I wanted my daughters and their boyfriends to come along and see how wonderful it is. North Pier was an ideal place to stay. As it is down in the village it is handy for all the local facilities. The golf course is just up the road. Where it is situated means it is really sheltered and we sat out every day on the decking where you can see out across the putting green and view the harbour and out to sea. The house was clean, the kitchen is well equipped and there were plenty lovely big soft towels in both bathrooms. A vase of fresh flowers was on the dining table when we arrived which was a lovely welcoming touch. We all enjoyed staying at North Pier and have already decided we want to return either as a family or with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: locality
Liked least: wi fi would have been good but didn't spoil our holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PutneyPat
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a 5 star break”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

50 metres from the beach, 25 from the harbour wall and the exams to the nearest pub. What more could you want?!
The house is situated slightly up a hill and so has a sea view. There is ample parking or in our case space for playing football. The friendly neighbours did not mind the ball going in to their gardens.
There is everything needed. Stacks of hot water, clean towels, comfortable beds and a large kitchen/diner.
Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing