We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Expedia.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Agoda.com
$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Hotels.com$114
Priceline$122
Travelocity$114
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,279)
Filter reviews
1,279 results
Traveller rating
513
390
207
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
390
207
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banks of the river beautiful setting lovely hotel dog friendly hotel evening meal dining room bit dated afternoon tea wine list scottish borders haggis return visit following morning birthday treat both nights public areas stayed for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,279 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2022

This is a lovely hotel in a great spot by the river, with friendly and helpful staff. We had a comfortable stay although I would say that the bathroom in particular needs an upgrade; sadly the hotel does look a little dated. But , for the money, this was a perfectly nice stay with pleasant food.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 September 2022

With a friend we have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. It is in a beautiful, peaceful setting which is convenient for touring the border towns.

All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and meal service was excellent. Like all hotels just now they have staffing issues so are supplying only breakfast on Thursdays to give their staff a break. The upstairs breakfast dining room is freshly decorated and overlooks the garden and the River Tweed. Dinner was served in the Bar / Bistro area down stairs and that worked well. There was a reasonable variety available on the dinner menu although vegetarian options were a bit limited.

Our first floor "Abbey" double room (with optional bed settee to make it a family room) was very spacious. The decor did not look quite like the website photos; it was rather drab and could have done with at least a picture or two. The en-suite bathroom was OK, not the most modern but perfectly serviceable. Older style shower over bath worked fine.

The hotel is local next to Dryburgh Abbey grounds (Historic Scotland). Much of the building is fenced off for maintenance but it made for an interesting and pleasant walk, viewing the magnificent trees and the River Tweed.

The hotel is conveniently located for a visit to the very interesting Abbotsford House. The Great Tapestry of Scotland is located at nearby Galashiels.

We plan to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank isobel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 August 2022

I have recently enjoyed a very relaxing weekend with my wife at the hotel and wanted to thank all of the staff (Thank You!) for looking after us and making our stay a memorable one.

We arrived early afternoon and decided to have afternoon tea sat on a comfy sofa. The sandwiches and cakes were lovely and hit the spot to keep us going until dinner.

We met up with some friends for a few afternoon drinks sat in the grounds. What beautiful and tranquil grounds to spend time chatting with friends and a good sun trap as weather was glorious.

We had dinner up in the dining room which is a lovely big room with plenty of space between tables so that you feel comfortable and not packed in, like a lot of places.

After a nightcap in the bar we had a comfortable sleep and were ready for breakfast. This was plentiful and set us up for the day ahead.

I know we will be returning and know for a fact that our friends have already booked to stay again.

Again, I would like to thank all of the staff and management on a wonderful stay at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, keep up the great work!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P1510GMtrevorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 August 2022

Recently stayed here for a 1 nights stay. Such a fantastic experience. We had afternoon tea by the fire place in the lounge, then some drinks outside in the sunshine with lovely views. Evening meal was so good best steak pie I have ever had. Crusty pastry with a generous portions of melt in your mouth diced beef with a tasty gravy. Served with mash potatoes and vegetables. Room was very clean and comfortable, We also had a lovely breakfast. Try the haggis. I would highly recommend and the staff are so friendly.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank nadeems823
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2022

Lovely location but really the hotel that time forgot. Beautiful views were the only thing deluxe about a so called deluxe room. Furniture frankly needs the skip, housekeeping is pretty minimal and clearly hadn’t heard of a duster. Breakfast is not really adequate, cheap juices, poor cereal selection, no porridge, no fruit salad, Luke warm cooked breakfast and mostly do it yourself. Dinner was better but the dining room too hot and the wine list poor. This could be an amazing spot but it just about teeters on as a hotel. There is need for new ownership with ambition, an eye for detail and wanting to invest. Certainly wouldn’t return until they spend money updating and improving all aspects.

If a Premier Inn opened in the vicinity they would need to improve their offer. As it is a lack of competition keeps them going

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank gggouret
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews