We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
361
174
60
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
174
60
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venueafternoon teafrom start to finishwedding receptionlovely hoteldaughters weddingspecial thanksfirst classevery member of staffbeautiful settingcourse dinnerfood was amazingsteakcooked to perfectionhigh standardattention to detailhaggis
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I write this review as I sit in my room contemplating whether to dine in the hotel or not, check in was a laborious process, I was second in line, one person checking people in, I have no idea what it would have been like if more than 3 people were there, no computer, really, it was like something out of the 80's, once checked in I went to my "Superior Room" a room with a lovely view into the downstairs Bay Window, brown furniture, no heating on, someone had to come and sort that out, thanks, We have 1 bath towel for 2 adults, you can hear everything in the corridor as the floor boards are very noisy, cannot work at my desk as the internet is slow, I dare say there are better superior rooms in the hotel, maybe I was just unlucky, would I return here, probably not.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rober_f_129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We have often walked past the hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay. As it was my birthday we booked and stayed for two nights. It was comfortable, friendly staff,food was lovely and well presented. Would love to have seen hotel once decorated for Christmas.

Room Tip: Room 32 had a lovely view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marilyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for sharing your view with fellow travellers through Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. The opinion of our guests is important to us and to that end I am pleased to note your comments.
We actually have our function suite decorations up now for our winter wonderland weddings and the main hotel decorations will be up for the first of December, please come along for a visit.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

YOU MUST HAVE YOUR WEDDING RECEPTION HERE! my wife & I have just got married and had our reception at the Rosslea hotel. We are still on cloud nine & still can’t believe everything that happened during it.

We book the thistle & rose package which I highly recommend. Our wedding planners Lynn & Gemma kept in contact with us though out the planning of the wedding & were very professional and where able to handle anything we asked of them.

The food was of an incredible standard, & got rave reviews. The meal was so much fun.

The staff were so professional & friendly they made us feel very special on our Big day I cannot find any fault with them.

Our MC Don was outstanding and managed to lead us though the day in style.

Our pipe was also an amazing character. So friendly & funny.

DJ Jim gave us the party we wanted right down to our favourite songs.

We had a special request about the wedding stationery & that was able to done looked awesome & very personal to us.

We had a lot of guests from outside Scotland some there 1st ever time here & they loved every minute of it. We also had a few guests telling us this was THE BEST WEDDING THEY HAD BEEN TOO.

Our guests where also able to book rooms a wedding rate with breakfast which was also top class.

The rooms are very spacious & beautifully decorated.

Location is stunning and great views from the rooms.

We are so lucky to have been able to have our wedding reception here & will never forget everything the Rosslea Hotel done for us.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!! XXX

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Martinb1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Martin

Well what can I say other than thank you so much for your very positive review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. Weddings are such special events and it is important that we exceed the expectation of all our guests. I am delighted that we succeeded. It is great to hear that we gave your guests a memorable experience of a day that should stay with them for a long time.

Thanks Once again

I hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel as a guest at a friends wedding. Lovely hotel, nice rooms, friendly helpful staff, the wedding was great, with lots of surprises! A decent breakfast as well! Only downside was the bar was quite expensive!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stuadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Stu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Rosslea Hall on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read your comments and I am so pleased you had an enjoyable experience. The opinion of our guest is very important to us. The prices in our Bar are comparable to lounge bar's in the area and I do try to keep them as low as is possible.

Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Had my wedding here recently and it was the best day ever due mainly to the hotel and all those who work there. Nothing is too difficult or too small for them to do. The gust rooms used were some of the best that my wife and I have used over the years and very comfortable. Without giving anything away to potential brows and grooms, the bridal suite is lovely with a fantastic view.
Everything about the hotel is fantastic. We will be back and most certainly to renew our vows in years to come. Special thanks to Lynn who held our hand over the past few months, couldn't have done it without her.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ColinN2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Colin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with others through Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read comments such as yours and it makes me very proud of the team and in particular all involved in delivering your wedding celebration. Weddings are very special occasions and I am proud to say the team here at Rosslea are particularly good in this area of our business. I will ensure all the team see your review and I know they will be equally pleased.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews