We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
A tranquil break in the heart of this beautiful Scottish Glen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A tranquil break in the heart of this beautiful Scottish Glen
welcome to The Doune spacious and light twin room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
A tranquil break in the heart of this beautiful Scottish Glen
welcome to The Doune
spacious and light twin room
romantic 4 poster bed with ensuite bathroom
fully fitted country kitchen
Relax in front of the TV
Kitchen with window seat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Steve C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage is beautifully located between two large hills in the Loch Lomond valleys. Having arrived at where our sat nav told us to drive, it was several miles of continuing along the same road before we found the house. The location is beautiful with no other properties around leaving you in this beautiful countryside. Having arrived at the cottage we discovered a beautiful welcome pack which included a bottle of scotch whisky, Irn Bru and other local produce.
The lounge is lovely with nice decor and beautiful working wood fire place. The kitchen is newly fitted and clean. The master bedroom features a stunning 4 poster bed and ensuite attached. There isn a separate bathroom and the second bedroom includes 2 beds and a standalone sink.

The lovely cottage is set on a working sheep farm. We spotted several different bird species around the house and a number of birds of prey and bats in the evening.

I would recommend a sturdy car to access the property as the last 50 meters to reach the house is very bumpy!

I would thoroughly recommend this property for those looking to escape and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the hebridies

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
218Harry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful view and environment”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Location isolated but beautiful view, amenities were poor.
Bathrooms old fashionated and only one shower worked.
By arrival the owner put some food for us in the fridge en had put flowers in the room which was very kind. Pity though that we did not had any contact witch Shona and that looks quite indifferent. The house is also shared with the farmers daughter but there is enough privacy. In fact the house looked much better on the photos then in reality but the view and location was stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Sorry that I kept missing you, I would have loved to have met you. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My family of four enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Shona was very easy to get in touch with, and so friendly. We loved being able to head out and hike in any direction, and having the hills to ourselves. Our stay was exactly what we imagined—some solitude in a beautiful setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Thank you very much, hope you had a safe journey home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Barnard, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic, relaxing Scottish rural setting”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This rural cottage is set off a single track road, so it's perfect if you want a quiet, relaxing break. The owners and their daughter are working the sheep/cattle farm, but were always available for questions and they left a nice assortment of drink/food to get one started. The cottage is comfortable and has all of the amenities. Be sure to bring good footwear for walks up the hills (it was a bit wet and cool the week we were there). There's a good general store in Arrochar, if you don't want to go the busier Luss. We did some good day trips to Stirling, Helensburgh, Oban and Ayr. We would highly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Thank you Linda. It was great to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P
2 reviews
“Cancelled our booking at last minute - no apology”
Reviewed 9 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were really looking forward to staying here over February half term. Sadly, the owner cancelled our booking with only 8 days notice having already paid in full. Apparently the heating is broken and can't be fixed in time. These things happen, but big inconvenience for us and a shame the owner couldn't even be bothered to apologise in any way or help find an alternative. Booked through Tripadvisor who at least have been more helpful in finding an alternative.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing