We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning. Hope to return.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Otter's Holt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie_Emm...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning. Hope to return.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here as a couple for a week in January and had the most wonderful time. The property itself was stunning and well equipped. Though the location was just next to the road, bridge and in quite close proximity to next door the house itself felt very private and tucked away. The hot-tub was fab - we used it almost every evening and again, with the cover up it felt private enough.

Amenities in Killin are really quite good, we visited Bridge of Lochay hotel and Killin Hotel for evening meals and enjoyed both. The co-op is also very close and stocks all necessities.

We did the Birks of Aberfeldy walk and would definitely recommend it - it was stunning.

Also had a problem with one of the doors on one day, but this was sorted within half an hour of contacting the owner - amazing.

The only tiny complaint we would have is the cleanliness of the property, there were several tiny things which could have been improved i.e. hairs in shower and bed, false nail on bed throw and small stains on bed sheets.

Also, during the winter months and dark nights it might be beneficial to put a light at the side of the property (when walking from the drive) as it can be slippery on the slope down which is even worse in the dark.

However all in all we had a phenomenal time, everything ran smoothly and we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot-tub
Liked least: VERY slight cleanliness issues and lack of light down side of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks for your review for your stay in January 2016 and we are so glad you had a nice time. We are so sorry you experienced some problems with the cleanliness within the property - it is a real shame you did not let us know about this during your stay, as we would obviously have tried our best to resolve this for you straight away. We are glad you would like to return in the future and that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McB1991
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“FAB LOCATION”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights and found the whole experience very relaxing . It is so private and situated directly on the river bank. We managed to spend alot of time on the deck , albeit with coats on! The hot tub is easy to use and a real bonus to our stay. Chairs in side lodge were not comfortable and we felt the lodge could have done with another lamp as one was not adequate in the lounge area. We travelled as two couples so joining beds would have been a benefit instead of two singles. Beds were so comfortable. We had a lovely meal at Bridge of Lochay Hotel, reasonably priced with excellent staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: small leather chairs were inadequate
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BM2118648...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our birthdays. The cottage is just fantastic and the hot tub was such a treat! Although next to the road, noise was not an issue. We visited the Bridge of Lochay Hotel for dinner one night which was fabulous and reasonably priced. Can't wait to return to Otter's Holt in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gfhjkl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing break! ”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great 3 nights here. Quiet, relaxing, spotlessly clean. We loved the hot tub and the pub right across the road was excellent. Although we didn't use it, we thought the take away service was a fantastic idea! The lodge was furnished beautifully and set in a gorgeous location. Will recommend to friends and family and look forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boromir35
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had a fantastic 3 day stay here with 3 girlfriends. The accommodation is stunning, spotless and located in such a beautiful area overlooking the river. It's quiet and peaceful with loads of wildlife to look out for (but no otters unfortunately). We were lucky with the weather even in late October and were able to sit out on the balcony. The hot tub was a luxury, we were able to see the milky way one night as there's no light pollution. The house is really well equipped but a little cold at times as the heating is pre-set and cannot be adjusted. The wifi is extremely slow as might be expected in the area but this was a little frustrating for us city girls and at one point towards the end of our stay it disappeared altogether and we were unable to get it to reset. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable, the bathrooms spacious and scrupulously clean and the living area with wrap around windows was stunning - we moved the seating so we could stare at the view. The leather seats were a tad uncomfortable so we took turns on these. One tiny criticism about the hairdryer - its lead is not quite long enough to get a good view in the mirror in the double bedroom when drying your hair. We will be booking up again for next year and will recommend Otters Holt to family and friends for certain. Many thanks for a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
We are so happy you loved the property and would of course be delighted to welcome you and your friends back anytime in the future. Please remember that if you have any issues with any aspect of the house, eg heating during your stay, you can contact our staff on the number we supply you with, so that any issues can be resolved quickly. With best wishes Nina and Greg.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing