We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Otter's Holt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pipharris...
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent three days in this fabulous property, it truly is in the most beautiful location with stunning views ,the ducks came to visit us daily right up to the windows & our most exciting wildlife coming to visit was the Red squirrel. The accommodation is spacious & well equipped with all the mod cons you could need, the hot tub went down a real treat with the boys who got good use out of it. Great pub just across the road with local shops just afew minutes walk, would recommend this property to anyone for a get away from it all break, just wish we had longer to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Chairs in living area not great if you where a large person,looked good but maybe another sofa
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great weekend at Otters Holt. Fantastic circular accommodation with fantastic views right on the river. Hot Tub and many other luxuries it was a great base to explore the local area. Our kids loved it too - we look forward to coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickjg34
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing property in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned home after spending a week at Otters Holt with our teenaged girls, and would recommend this property to anyone.
The location is within 10 minutes walking distance to the local shops which cater for all your essentials, and is a lovely walk.
Otters Holt is everything you would want from a property, we found it very spacious, clean, well equipped and modern.
The kitchen had all the utensils you would need including a dishwasher although i forgot about this and washed up by hand, the bedrooms were spacious with comfortable beds and had beautiful en-suites and constant hot water which saved on a lot of arguments.
The living room area has all the mod cons including bluetooth connectivity on the stereo for linking your iphone, blue-ray player and large tv with working tv stations.
The hot tub was a massive life saver for the girls and plenty of room in there so they had no need to argue or trend on each others toes, also being sunk into the decking didn't make the decking area look small in anyway.
May i add that the hot tub was also cleaned every morning by a friendly member of there staff.
Otters Holt is situated in a prime location and has amazing views from both the decking and car park area, i would highly recommend this property and will be returning again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and setting of the property.
Liked least: The 8 hour drive to get there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleafordS...
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Truly special in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week as a family of four. (Two adults and two teenagers) We have stayed in many lodges over the years but this one outshines the rest. Otters Holt is truly a special lodge in a stunning setting. It was great that it was a little bit different by being round and tucked down by the river.
The lodge was clean and spacious. The view through the tall glass windows are fantastic. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfortable with quality linen and towels. The showers were excellent. I do agree with another reviewer that it needs more mirrors. One in the twin bathroom and another in the double bedroom ( I struggled to use my hair straightener near a mirror with a socket)
The lodge is amongst a few other lodges, and it is directly next to a bridge. People walking past can look down onto the decking area, but we hardly noticed anyone, but you can hear the traffic, luckily it didn't seem to be a very busy road so there wasn't too much noise.
The weather was kind to us the week we stayed so we managed to sit out on the decking area most nights. We even used the BBQ. A fantastic view, just watching the river flow by. We didn't use the hot tub much (it wasn't really working properly during the week we stayed). However just sitting outside taking in the view was good enough for us.
The lodge is located at the end of the village with a good pub opposite. Everything else, including a good supermarket, is about 15-20 minute level walk into the centre. Which my husband walked every morning to get a paper and a bit of shopping.
Killin is a great location to explore from. We went to Inverness and Lochness, which was a good day out. Other days at other lochs / villages and some days in, just enjoying the view.
Otters Holt is a beautiful property which I throughly recommend.

Thank you for a fantastic week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan T
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning lodge”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a week at Otter's Holt and have to say this is a beautiful lodge in a great location. the contemporary furnishings are very tastefully done and create a completely relaxing environment.
The lodge is so deceptive, from the outside it appears on the small side but on entering you are blown away at how much space there is! It really is huge. The huge ceiling to floor windows give a great view of the river.
The hot tub is a great way to relax after a day of exploring and is hidden from the other lodges in the area. The cover does provide a bit of cover from the road side but to be honest, we only saw a handful of people walk by all week.
The owners have also provided a sound system which allows you to Bluetooth stream your own music from your iPhone, this was great!
The owners were very attentive to any queries and responded quickly.

We would happily return anytime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing