We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
483
406
207
90
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
406
207
90
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery coach parties coach trip loch lomond four poster bed four nights function room lovely hotel small village great night open fire evening meal weekend break from start to finish haggis waiting staff food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Our bedroom was possibly one of the worst rooms I’ve ever stayed in. Why we were given such a small, shabby room with an ensuite shower room that smelt dreadful when there appeared to be other refurbished rooms. Most disappointing would not stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LadyOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

This 18th century inn near Loch Lomond, is full of atmosphere. Blazing log fires and typical Scottish decor. Some of the 73 bedrooms have four poster beds, but if you're not lucky enough to have one of these, the others are very comfortable too. You can eat in the cozy Ptarmigan bar, or the Capercaillie room that has an area to dance, or the intimate Merlin restaurant. The food is good with specials daily. We had a choice of three of each course and there's always a vegetarian option. My only niggle was the speed in which empty plates were taken away by waitresses, when other people on the table were still eating.
There's entertainment on most weekends of a singer or Scottish music and dancing, if there's a large group. Bedrooms were comfortable, with tea/ coffee making facilities and it was nice to be given plenty of milk each day, instead of just a couple, which is never enough!
It's easy to get to Edinburgh(1 hour), Glasgow and Stirling(30mins) from this location. The hotel has been added to over the years and can seem like a maze upon arrival, but you soon find your bearings and the staff are very helpful if you get lost!
The village of Drymen has a small shop, butchers, a post Office and two pubs. A lovely base in which to explore the delights and beauty of the Scottish countryside.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

I attended this hotel with my daughter for a murder mystery night as part of a christmas present. Staff were very friendly. Room was lovely and clean. Food amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them from arrival to departure. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to any one. Would definately return

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

From arriving to departing every thing went like a dream .first class breakfast .staff kept us supplied the table with toast evening meal was first class nothing was to much trouble .rooms nice and warm entertainment very enjoyable will definitely return to this hotel

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

My husband and I had a two night stay here. On Monday morning it looked like we would be snowed in but we wouldn’t have minded as it’s such a lovely hotel! It was super warm and cosy, food was delicious, staff were friendly and rooms are clean and comfortable: just watch out for the boiling hot water in the hot taps!
We will definitely return and hope to take in one of their murder mystery nights!

Room tip: Ask for a room to rear of hotel away from road
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ccrw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews